Opening Asia for Russia

Iran will join the SCO countries

17.09.2021 86 просмотров

Participants of the summit in Dushanbe signed a document providing for the start of admission of Iran to the SCO.

Participants of the summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), which was held in Dushanbe, signed a document on cooperation, which implies the beginning of the process of admitting Iran to the organization. This was announced on Friday during the summit.

“On the start of the procedure for admitting the Islamic Republic of Iran to the SCO membership,” the title of the signed document was announced.

Earlier on Friday, President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin at the SCO summit said that Russia supports the beginning of the procedure for admitting Iran to the organization.

The Declaration on the establishment of the SCO was signed in Shanghai in June 2001 by six states - Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. In 2017, India and Pakistan became full members of the SCO. Four observer countries (Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia) and six dialogue partners (Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka) also take part in the work of the association.

Новости партнёров

Subscribe to Big Asia Newsletters

Subscribe and don't miss exclusive news