Партнёрам и рекламодателям
Opening Asia for Russia

Qatar – information about the country, history, sights, visa

Qatar




Qatar

CAPITAL Doha
GOVERNMENT Absolute monarchy
INTERNAL DIVISION The country is divided into 7 municipalities
SQUARE 11,586 km²
CLIMATE continental, tropical
OFFICIAL LANGUAGE Arabic
CURRENCY Qatari rial
POPULATION more than 2 million
NATION The country is mostly inhabited by Arabs, but Pakistanis, Indians, Iranians and immigrants from other states also live here.
RELIGION 77.5% of residents profess Muslims, 8.5% - Christianity, 14% - other beliefs

State flag

The flag of this Middle Eastern state is the narrowest and longest of all known. The brown area refers to historical events and means the blood shed for the country, the white one symbolizes the present and speaks of the residents' desire for well-being.

National emblem

The sabers depicted on the coat of arms are the traditional weapons of Arab men. The same symbol is present on the emblems of Oman, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. Waves and a sailing ship are signs that the state has access to the sea. The palm trees signify the native vegetation.

Applying for a visa to Qatar

A visa is required to visit Qatar. You can issue it upon arrival at the airport or at the consular department of the country's embassy in Moscow. The document is issued for the period specified in the invitation, or according to the number of days booked at the hotel.

How to get to Qatar from Russia on your own

From Russia to Qatar can be reached by plane.

Qatar

One of the richest countries in the world is located in the Middle East, on the Persian Gulf. It borders Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates. The country lies on a desert plateau, oases are found only in the north. The highest point - Qurayn-abu-al-Baul (103 meters) - is located in the south. 

With a modest relief, the bowels are rich in minerals, mainly oil. It is she who provides wealth to Qatar. Before oil fields were discovered here, the inhabitants mainly mined pearls.

The territory is dominated by a tropical maritime climate. In summer, the air temperature rises to plus 50 degrees Celsius, and in winter it reaches 16 degrees above zero.  There is very little precipitation, but sandstorms are not uncommon. 

The best time to travel to this country is autumn. 

Because of the arid climate, the flora and fauna of Qatar are very modest. The most common plants here are camel thorn, wormwood and tamarisk. But to say that there is nothing else besides them would be an exaggeration. Mangrove forests grow in the south, and palm trees grow in places of oases. In the rainy season, xerophilous shrubs bloom. 

Reptiles predominate among animals. Scorpions, spiders and poisonous snakes live in the desert. There are also foxes, jackals and gazelles. And in the waters of the Persian Gulf, there are many species of fish and pearl mollusks.

The peninsula, where Qatar is located, was inhabited several millennia ago. In ancient times, the Canaan tribes lived here, which the Greek philosopher Herodotus mentions in his writings. In the third millennium BC, the Dilmun state arose, one of the most influential in the East. In the Middle Ages, it came under the influence of Portugal, and then under the protectorate of Great Britain. Qatar gained full independence on September 8, 1971. 

The way of life and customs of the Qataris are regulated by Islam, and many of the rules may seem strict to travelers. For example, the inhabitants of the country never sunbathe, do not swim or drink alcohol, and adhere to halal laws in food.

Interesting fact: Only 20% of the population of Qatar are its citizens. To obtain citizenship of the country, one must be born here, and in the family of local residents.


In Qatar, you can visit one of the most unusual Arab entertainments - camel races. Once they were the lot of the Bedouins, but now it is a real sport with its own special rules.

Handball, boxing, football, rally and clay shooting are developing from traditional sports. One of the most famous Qatari athletes, athlete Mutaz Essa Barshim, brought the country a silver medal at the Olympic Games and repeatedly won international competitions. In 2022, Qatar is preparing to host the World Cup and is building arenas for which it plans to spend up to $200 billion. This sports project is already today considered the most expensive in history. 

Interesting fact: < /b> The largest construction site of the 2022 World Cup is Lusail, which will host the opening ceremony of the tournament and the final match. The construction of the city in the desert began in 2006. The project is estimated at 45 billion US dollars.


To protect the participants and guests of the championship from the heat, Qatari scientists are going to develop artificial clouds.

Science and education in Qatar are paying special attention. Educational institutions here are free for all citizens. The country has one national university and many branches of European and American universities. And thanks to special programs, you can continue your education in leading European educational institutions.

In Qatar, jewelry, woodcarving, and weaving have always been valued. The embroidery known as “curar” (using gold thread) has survived to this day. Hundreds of prehistoric rock paintings have been found in Jebel in the northeast of the country. The largest collection of rare collections can be seen at the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha. 

Interesting fact: Qatar is the safest Arab country.


Arab, in particular Qatari, culture has played a big role in the development of world civilization. Meanwhile, there are few historical sights in Qatar. You can go on an excursion to Al Ruweis - the area inhabited by the Bedouin tribes, to the ancient fort of Umm Salal Mohammed or to the places of pearl mining. 

which Doha and the Palm Island are considered to be, go to exhibitions of modern art and admire modern architecture. 

There are no taxes on trade in Qatar, which makes shopping here attractive. In the Lekki Bazaar, for example, you can find old figurines, paintings and works of local craftsmen. As a souvenir, you can bring gold items and antiques.

The working week in Qatar begins on Sunday. On weekends - Friday and Saturday - shopping centers in the morning are open only for families and women.

The largest shopping center "Villagio" is the pride of Qatar. The ceiling in the building imitates the vault of heaven, and all the shops are located on the "banks" of the canal, along which the gondolas float. 

Qatari cuisine is little known in the world. Dates, camel milk and butter form the basis of national dishes. In combination with seafood and vegetables, various spices are widely used - garlic, onion, pepper and cinnamon. The most delicious rice and meat dishes are “varak enab” (rice wrapped in grape leaves) and “biryani” (rice with chicken or lamb and spices), and for desserts, locals advise trying “mahalabiya” - a milk pudding that is prepared on flower water with the addition of pistachios. 

Of the holidays in Qatar, the Day of the accession of the Emir to the throne of Qatar and Independence Day are celebrated on a special scale.  

The country of sands becomes more and more every year more attractive for travelers, surprising with a combination of antiquity and modernity.

Asian countries

Открываем Азию для России

Катар




Катар

Столица Доха
Государственное устройство Абсолютная монархия
Внутреннее деление Страна разделена на 7 муниципалитетов
Площадь 11 586 км²
Климат континентальный, тропический
Официальный язык Арабский язык
Валюта Катарский риал
Население более 2 млн
Национальный состав В основном страну населяют арабы, но здесь живут также пакистанцы, индийцы, иранцы и выходцы из других государств
Религия 77,5% жителей исповедуют мусульманство, 8,5% — христианство, 14% – другие верования
Часовой пояс UTC +3 / МСК +0
Телефонный код 974

Государственный флаг

Флаг этого ближневосточного государства – самый узкий и длинный из всех известных. Коричневая область отсылает к историческим событиям и означает пролитую за страну кровь, белая символизирует настоящее и говорит о стремлении жителей к благополучию.

Государственный герб

Изображенные на гербе сабли – традиционное оружие арабских мужчин. Этот же символ присутствует на гербах Омана, Кувейта, Саудовской Аравии и ОАЭ. Волны и парусное судно – знаки того, что у государства есть выход к морю. Пальмы обозначают местную растительность.

Москва
  • Москва

Посольство

Адрес: ул. Коровий вал, д.7, кв. 196-198.
Телефон: +7 (495) 230-15-77
E-mail:
Web

Деловой совет по сотрудничеству ТПП

Адрес:
Телефон:
E-mail:
Web http://russia-qatar.ru/

Культурный центр

Торговое представительство

Общество дружбы

Оформление визы в Катар

Для посещения Катара нужна виза. Оформить ее можно по прибытии в аэропорт или в консульском отделе посольства страны в Москве. Документ выдают на срок, указанный в приглашении, либо по количеству дней, забронированных в отеле.

Как самостоятельно добраться в Катар из России

Из России в Катар можно добраться на самолете.

Культура и отдых

Катар

Одно из самых богатых государств мира расположено на Ближнем Востоке, на берегу Персидского залива. Граничит с Саудовской Аравией, Бахрейном и Объединенными Арабскими Эмиратами. Страна лежит на пустынном плато, оазисы встречаются лишь на севере. Самая высокая точка – Курайн-абу-аль-Баул (103 метра) – находится на юге. 

При скромном рельефе недра богаты полезными ископаемыми, в основном нефтью. Именно она обеспечивает Катару богатство. До того, как здесь были открыты нефтяные месторождения, жители в основном добывали жемчуг.

Над территорией господствует тропический морской климат. Летом температура воздуха поднимается до плюс 50 градусов по Цельсию, а зимой достигает 16 градусов выше нуля.  Осадков выпадает крайне мало, зато нередки песчаные бури. 

Лучшее временя для путешествий в эту страну – осень. 

Из-за засушливого климата флора и фауна Катара весьма скромны. Самые распространенные растения здесь – верблюжья колючка, полынь и тамариск. Но сказать, что кроме них ничего нет, было бы преувеличением. На юге растут мангровые леса, а в местах оазисов – пальмы. В сезон дождей расцветают ксерофильные кустарники. 

Из животных здесь преобладают пресмыкающиеся. В пустыне живут скорпионы, пауки и ядовитые змеи. Встречаются также лисицы, шакалы и газели. А в водах Персидского залива обитает множество видов рыб и моллюски-жемчужницы.

Полуостров, где расположен Катар, был заселен еще несколько тысячелетий назад. В глубокой древности здесь жили Кенаанские племена, которые упоминает в своих трудах греческий философ Геродот. В третьем тысячелетии до нашей эры возникло Дильмунское государство, одно из самых влиятельных на Востоке. В средние века оно попало под влияние Португалии, а затем – под протекторат Великобритании. Полную независимость Катар получил восьмого сентября 1971 года. 

Уклад жизни и обычаи катарцев регламентируются исламом, и многие правила могут показаться путешественникам строгими. Например, жители страны никогда не загорают, не купаются и не пьют алкоголь, а в еде придерживаются законов халяль.

Интересный факт: Только 20% населения Катара являются его гражданами. Чтобы получить гражданство страны, надо здесь родиться, причем в семье местных жителей.


В Катаре можно посетить одно из самых необычных арабских развлечений – верблюжьи бега. Когда-то они были уделом бедуинов, однако теперь это самый настоящий спорт со своими особыми правилами.

Из традиционных видов спорта развиваются гандбол, бокс, футбол, ралли и стендовая стрельба. Один из самых известных катарских спортсменов – легкоатлет Мутаз Эсса Баршим – принес стране серебряную медаль на Олимпийских играх и неоднократно побеждал на международных соревнованиях. В 2020 году Катар готовится принять чемпионат мира по футболу и строит арены, на которые планирует потратить до 200 миллиардов долларов. Этот спортивный проект уже сегодня считается самым дорогим в истории. 

Интересный факт: Самая масштабная стройка ЧМ-2022 – Лусаил, который примет церемонию открытия турнира и финальный матч. Возводить город в пустыне начали в 2006 году. Проект оценивается в 45 миллиардов долларов США.


Чтобы защитить участников и гостей чемпионата от жары, катарские ученые собираются разработать искусственные облака.

Науке и образованию в Катаре уделяют особое внимание. Учебные заведения здесь бесплатны для всех граждан. В стране действует один национальный университет и множество филиалов европейских и американских вузов. А благодаря специальным программам можно продолжить обучение в ведущих европейских образовательных учреждениях.

В Катаре всегда ценились ювелирное искусство, резьба по дереву, ткачество. До наших дней дошла вышивка, известная как «курар» (с использованием золотой нити). В Джебеле на северо-востоке страны найдены сотни наскальных рисунков доисторических времен. Самое большое собрание редких коллекций можно увидеть в Музее исламского искусства в Дохе. 

Интересный факт: Катар - самая безопасная арабская страна.


Арабская, в частности катарская, культура сыграла большую роль в становлении мировой цивилизации. Между тем исторических достопримечательностей в Катаре мало. Можно отправиться на экскурсию в Аль-Рувейс – район обитания бедуинских племен, в древний форт Умм-Салал-Мохаммед или на места добычи жемчуга. 

В основном туристы едут в Катар, чтобы отдохнуть на курортах, лучшими из которых считаются Доха и Пальмовый остров, сходить на выставки современного искусства и полюбоваться современной архитектурой. 

В Катаре нет налогов на торговлю, что делает шоппинг здесь привлекательным. На базаре Лекки, например, можно найти старинные фигурки, картины и работы местных умельцев. В качестве сувенира можно привезти золотые изделия и антиквариат.

Рабочая неделя в Катаре начинается в воскресенье. В выходные — пятницу и субботу – торговые центры в первой половине дня открыты только семей и женщин.

Крупнейший торговый центр «Вилладжио» - гордость Катара. Потолок в здании имитирует небесный свод, а все магазины расположены на “берегах” канала, по которому проплывают гондолы. 

Катарская кухня мало известна в мире. Основу национальных блюд составляют финики, верблюжье молоко и масло. В сочетании с морепродуктами и овощами широко применяют различные пряности – чеснок, лук, перец и корицу. Самые вкусные блюда из риса и мяса – «варак энаб» (рис, завернутый в виноградные листья) и «бирьяни» (рис с курицей или бараниной и пряностями), а из десертов местные жители советуют попробовать “махалябию” – молочный пудинг, который готовят на цветочной воде с добавлением фисташек. 

Из праздников в Катаре с особым размахом отмечаются День вступления Эмира на престол Катара и День независимости.  

Страна песков с каждым годом становится все более привлекательной для путешественников, удивляя сочетанием древности и современности.

Страны Азии