Opening Asia for Russia

30.03.2018 151 просмотров

Every year on the Thai island of Phuket, the Vegetarian Festival is celebrated. This holiday is so unusual that what you see is remembered for a lifetime.



Some people sometimes do things with their bodies that it remains only to shrug their hands in bewilderment, because only one phrase comes to mind: “It's impossible!” It is impossible because it cannot be, since it contradicts all the laws of nature. Therefore, everything seen is a complete deception and hoax. However, it is sometimes difficult to argue with the facts and what has been seen.

Every year in Thailand on the island of Phuket in late September or early October, the so-called "Vegetarian Festival" is held. However, by and large, this festive event has nothing to do with vegetarianism, except for those fruit and vegetable tables with gifts that are displayed near the houses of local residents. The holiday is remembered by others: first of all, by a chilling action, which is difficult to call otherwise than collective madness. For tourists who manage to be in the center of action, it makes an indelible impression.

Thailand, Phuket
The appearance of some festival participants evokes mixed feelings. Photo: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Among all kinds of holidays, this one can certainly be considered one of the most unusual. For several days, small groups of people walk along the streets and environs of the capital of Phuket - Phuket Town. They, of course, follow strictly defined routes - usually towards the temple, where some participants in the procession must still walk barefoot along the stairs studded with broken glass without getting injured. All the people are dressed up in ceremonial clothes, they pray and sing some songs... It seems to be nothing unusual.

However, it seems so only at first glance: when you come closer to one or another column of people, you see that the appearance of some of the participants, to put it mildly, is as if they have descended from the screens of horror films about zombies replicated by the Western film industry. Looking closely, you notice that one of the young people has something very strongly resembling a chisel sticking out of his cheek, the other’s ear is “fixed” with pliers with a firm grip, the body of the third is all pierced with sharp knitting needles and swords, the points of which stick out from the back. However, there are no cries of pain or groans of horror in the crowd - everyone around laughs and rejoices, not paying attention to the disfigured people who seem not to react to the surrounding reality.

Thailand, Phuket
Climax of the holiday - procession under the roar of "cannonade". Photo: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Here, some uncle with blissfully rolling eyes fidgets with his tongue with a saw - not paper, it should be noted, but real, metal. The other next to him “scratches” his skull with an ax, on which, as it seems, there is no longer a living place, and next to him stands a man who mutilated his tongue with a broken neck of a bottle, piercing it through, and at the same time drove a large cleaver into his cheek.
 
Meanwhile, everything seen soon no longer causes unfeigned horror. You begin to understand that something is wrong here - until recently, you seem to have seen overly traumatized people, when suddenly, by some miracle, all these zombies turn into ordinary people. The terrible wounds that were recently on their bodies mysteriously disappear, as if they did not exist at all. There is no blood flowing in streams. The mind refuses to accept such a sharp transformation, because you saw everything with your own eyes.

The Vegetarian Festival usually ends on the evening of the ninth day, when a huge crowd of people gathers in the center of Phuket Town - many spectators, but even more participants. There is one procession after another, fireworks, firecrackers, crackers are thundering, there is a lot of ash and smoke around. Everything ends with the symbolic extinguishing of the lanterns: they should not be extinguished ahead of time, as this is a bad omen. When the festival ends, “foreign” objects are removed from the bodies of the most active participants of the Vegetarian Festival - now they become relics that need to be carefully stored. It is believed that all these swords, sabers, lances, etc. will bring good luck in the future. Scars, of course, will remain, but they do not bring much discomfort to their owners.

Thailand, Phuket
At the end of the festival, items are removed from the bodies and become relics. Photo: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Understanding what you see is difficult, but possible when you start to understand what it all means. The fact is that the Vegetarian Festival in Phuket has a rather long history - as expected, with its own legend. According to it, a large Chinese community settled on this Thai island several hundred years ago. People lived peacefully and calmly: they raised children, were engaged in subsidiary farming and earned their daily bread with hard work. But once there was a misfortune: the inhabitants of the community were struck by an incomprehensible deadly disease, which the Thai Chinese considered God's punishment for apostasy. In their opinion, the moment came when they stopped honoring their gods - that's why God's disgrace came to them. Then they tried to regain the lost supreme benevolence. But how can this be done if many religious traditions and knowledge have been lost?

A council met in the Chinese community in Phuket, which decided to send a delegation to their historical homeland to find out the “recipes” with which it would be possible to regain favor gods and stop incomprehensible death. Time passed, the messengers returned from South China, as expected, not empty-handed. They brought with them important knowledge, which, it is believed, returned well-being to people. Since then, the Chinese community of Phuket has been performing a healing ritual of purification every year. For nine days, local Chinese do not eat meat, onions, garlic, practically do not drink water, and drinking alcoholic beverages is strictly prohibited at this time. Of course, you can't smoke, or swear, or indulge in bad thoughts... 

Thailand, Phuket
When falling into a trance state, people are able to walk on hot coals without injuring themselves. Phuket. Thailand. Photo: Athit Perawongmetha/Reuters


In fact, there are quite a lot of various bans. These days, the entire Chinese community in Phuket lives a little differently than on ordinary days. People put on clean clothes and go outside to take part in various festive events. As for the piercing of various parts of the body, as it turns out, this is not malicious self-harm at all, but a cleansing ritual when it is necessary to enter a trance state. According to the participants of the Vegetarian Festival, at this time "the Spirit dwells in them." Many of them consider themselves mediums who become "bridges" between the worlds of the living and the dead, only through them the grace of the gods descends on other members of the community.

poor fellows, piercing and cutting themselves with various objects, swallowing swords and fire, are not martyrs at all, as it might seem at first. In fact, there is no bloody spectacle, but something else is happening that the human mind is not yet able to understand, comprehend and accept. Modern medicine is trying to explain this phenomenon: the state of trance is being actively studied, but much remains a mystery behind seven seals. By the way, something similar, when people fall into a trance and do not feel pain, can be seen in many places in the world. For example, in Bulgaria there is a religious and cultural phenomenon - nestinarstvo. One of its main features is a ritual dance on hot coals. However, there is no blood, burns, severe wounds, after which a person has to be treated for a long time. The phenomenon itself exists. To call it a hoax somehow the language does not turn, even notorious skeptics do not dare to do this.
Subscribe:

News

Partner news

https://eabr.org
https://eabr.org

Открываем Азию для России

30.03.2018 Олег Мироненко 236 просмотров

Странные «вегетарианские» забавы Пхукета

Каждый год на тайском острове Пхукет празднуется Вегетарианский фестиваль. Этот праздник настолько необычный, что увиденное запоминается на всю жизнь.



Некоторые люди порой вытворяют со своим телом такое, что остаётся лишь недоуменно развести руками, потому что на язык просится лишь одна фраза: «Это невозможно!» Невозможно потому, что быть такого не может, так как это противоречит всем законам природы. Следовательно, всё увиденное — сплошной обман и мистификация. Однако с фактами и увиденным иногда трудно спорить.

Ежегодно в Таиланде на острове Пхукет в конце сентября или начале октября проводится так называемый «Вегетарианский фестиваль». Впрочем, никакого отношения к вегетарианству это праздничное мероприятие по большому счёту не имеет, если не считать те плодово-овощные столики с дарами, которые выставляются у домов местных жителей. Запоминается праздник другим: прежде всего, леденящим душу действом, которое иначе как коллективным сумасшествием назвать сложно. На туристов, которым удалось оказаться в центре событий, оно производит неизгладимое впечатление.

Таиланд, Пхукет
Внешний вид некоторых участников фестиваля вызывает двоякие чувства. Фото: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Среди всевозможных праздников этот, безусловно, можно смело считать одним из самых необычных. Несколько дней по улицам и окрестностям столицы Пхукета — Пхукет-тауна - ходят небольшие группы людей. Они, конечно же, следуют по строго заданным маршрутам — обычно по направлению к храму, где некоторые участники процессии должны ещё пройти босыми ногами по утыканной битым стеклом лестнице, не получив при этом травм. Все люди разодеты в парадные одежды, они молятся и распевают какие-то песни... Вроде бы ничего необычного.

Однако так кажется лишь на первый взгляд: когда подходишь поближе к той или иной колонне людей, то видишь, что внешний вид некоторых участников, мягко говоря, такой, словно они сошли с экранов растиражированных западной киноиндустрией фильмов ужасов про зомби. Присмотревшись, замечаешь, что вот у одного из молодых людей из щеки торчит нечто очень сильно напоминающее долото, у другого ухо жёсткой хваткой «зафиксировано» плоскогубцами, тело третьего всё истыкано острыми спицами и шпагами, острия которых торчат со спины. Однако ни криков боли, ни стонов ужаса в толпе нет — все вокруг смеются и ликуют, не обращая внимания на изуродованных людей, которые, кажется, не реагируют на окружающую действительность.

Таиланд, Пхукет
Кульминация праздника - шествие под грохот "канонады". Фото: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Вот, какой-то дядька с блаженно закатившимися глазами ёрзает по своему языку пилой — не бумажной, нужно отметить, а настоящей, металлической. Другой рядом с ним топором «чешет» свой череп, на котором, как кажется, уже и живого места нет, а рядом с ним стоит человек, который изуродовал свой язык разбитым горлышком бутылки, проткнув его насквозь, а заодно вогнал в щёку крупный тесак.
 
Между тем, всё увиденное вскоре уже не вызывает непритворный ужас. Начинаешь понимать, что что-то здесь не так - ещё недавно ты вроде бы лицезрел чрезмерно травмированных людей, как вдруг каким-то чудом все эти зомби превращаются в обычных людей. Страшные раны, которые совсем недавно были на их телах, мистическим образом исчезают, вроде их и не было вовсе. Нет и льющейся ручьями крови. Разум отказывается принимать столь резкую трансформацию, ведь ты всё видел собственными глазам.

Заканчивается Вегетарианский фестиваль обычно вечером на девятый день, когда в центре Пхукет-тауна собирается огромная толпа людей — много зрителей, но ещё больше участников. Идёт одна процессия за другой, гремят салюты, петарды, хлопушки, вокруг много пепла и дыма. Всё завершается символическим гашением фонарей: они не должны быть потушены прежде времени, так как это плохая примета. Когда фестиваль завершается, то из тел самых активных участников Вегетарианского фестиваля вынимаются «посторонние» предметы — теперь они становятся реликвиями, которые нужно бережно хранить. Считается, что все эти шпаги, сабли, пики и т. д. принесут в дальнейшем удачу. Шрамы, конечно, останутся, но они не приносят большого дискомфорта своим владельцам.

Таиланд, Пхукет
По завершении фестиваля предметы вынимаются из тел и становятся реликвиями. Фото: Jorge Silva/Reuters


Понять увиденное трудно, но можно, когда начинаешь разбираться в том, что всё это значит. Дело в том, что у Вегетарианского фестиваля на Пхукете довольно долгая история — как положено, со своей легендой. Согласно оной, несколько сот лет тому назад на этом тайском острове поселилась крупная китайская община. Жили люди мирно и спокойно: растили детей, занимались подсобным хозяйством и добывали тяжким трудом хлеб насущный. Но однажды случилась беда: жителей общины поразила непонятная смертельная болезнь, которую тайские китайцы сочли наказанием божьим за вероотступничество. По их мнению, наступил момент, когда они перестали чтить своих богов — поэтому и пришла к ним божья немилость. Тогда они попытались вернуть утраченную высшую благосклонность. Но как это сделать, если многие религиозные традиции и знания утрачены?

В китайской общине на Пхукете собрался совет, который принял решение отправить на историческую родину делегацию, чтобы та разузнала «рецепты», при помощи которых можно будет вернуть расположение богов и прекратить непонятные смерти. Прошло время, гонцы возвратились из Южного Китая, как и ожидалось, не с пустыми руками. Они привезли с собой важные знания, которые, как считается, и вернули людям благополучие. С тех пор китайская община Пхукета каждый год проводит целебный обряд очищения. Девять дней местные китайцы не едят мясо, лук, чеснок, практически не пьют воду, а распитие алкогольных напитков находится в это время под строгим запретом. Само собой, нельзя ни курить, ни ругаться, ни предаваться дурным мыслям… 

Таиланд, Пхукет
Впадая в состояние транса, люди способны ходить по раскалённым углям не травмируя себя. Пхукет. Таиланд. Фото: Athit Perawongmetha/Reuters


На самом деле, всевозможных запретов довольно много. В эти дни вся китайская община на Пхукете живёт несколько иначе, чем в обычные дни. Люди облачаются в чистые наряды и выходят на улицу, чтобы принять участие в тех или иных торжественных мероприятиях. Что же касается прокалывания различных частей тела, то, как выясняется, это вовсе не злостное членовредительство, а очистительный ритуал, когда необходимо входить в состояние транса. По словам участников Вегетарианского фестиваля, в это время «в них пребывает Дух». Многие из них считают себя медиумами, которые становятся «мостиками» между мирами живых и мёртвых, только через них на других членов общины нисходит милость богов.

Когда долго наблюдаешь за участниками необычных шествий, постепенно приходит понимание, что все эти бедолаги, прокалывающие и режущие себя различными предметами, глотающие шпаги и огонь, - вовсе не мученики, как может поначалу показаться. На самом деле, нет никакого кровавого зрелища, а происходит что-то другое, что человеческий разум пока ещё не в состоянии понять, осознать и принять. Современная медицина пытается объяснить это явление: состояние транса активно изучается, однако многое так и остаётся тайной за семью печатями. Кстати, нечто подобное, когда люди впадают в транс и не чувствуют боли, можно увидеть во многих местах мира. Например, в Болгарии существует религиозно-культурный феномен — нестинарство. Одна из основных его особенностей — обрядовый танец на пышущих жаром углях. Однако нет крови, ожогов, тяжелейших ран, после которых человеку приходится долго лечиться. Само же явление существует. Назвать его мистификацией как-то язык не поворачивается, этого не осмеливаются делать даже отъявленные скептики.

Читайте также

Обзоры

31.12.2017 403

Люди Токио

Обзоры

Новости

Наука и образование

Культура и отдых

Новости партнёров