Opening Asia for Russia

09.07.2018 87 просмотров

One day, the Japanese sage Daruma turned into a peasant woman, Matryona, a matryoshka doll that many foreigners call the most beloved Russian souvenir.


Very confidently, this doll in a peasant outfit stood in the usual row of "primordially Russian" - somewhere between bast shoes, vodka, a bathhouse and pancakes with caviar. Well, such a stereotype was formed: and - at least crack! - there is no way to change it. Even the unusual shape of the matryoshka doll - inside one doll is another, inside that one - another one - surprisingly echoes the idea of the "mysterious Russian soul". Indeed, in it, as in an onion, there will always be another one behind the top layer, and if you dig deeper, you will find a lot of interesting things.

the painted beautiful girl came to us, not changing at all, from the cherished antiquity, from the epic and fairy-tale world. But in fact, in the old days in Russia, no one heard anything about the matryoshka: the first detachable wooden doll was made in a Moscow workshop only at the end of the 19th century, and even - scary to say! - it was a copy of a Japanese figurine. 

It was like this. In 1891, one of the guests from the island of Honshu brought an unusual wooden figurine to the famous Abramtsevo estate, owned by Russian industrialists and philanthropists Mamontov - with a "surprise". It could be divided into two parts to reveal another hidden figurine, smaller. And that, in turn, also consisted of two halves ... There were five such figures in total, and the toy itself was called Daruma - that is the name of the god that brings good luck in Japan. & nbsp;

Russia. Matryoshka
Russia. A giant nesting doll at Adler International Airport. Photo: Murad Sezer/Reuters


Frankly speaking, this character is not from a Russian epic. Daruma spent his whole life in a cave, where he indulged in reflection and meditation. Therefore, the god is always depicted with a stern, concentrated face, without arms and legs (in fact, they withered away as unnecessary), and the figures nested in each other illustrate the five stages of his path to enlightenment. Fortunately, the matryoshka took over only the form from Daruma, and left its stern appearance to its Japanese progenitor.

At that time, the Abramtsevo circle was attended by many Russian painters who preached the idea of reviving the “truly folk style” in art. Regarding the "sending" of the matryoshka "to people", there are several different versions. One of them says that once the artist Sergey Malyutin, who was visiting the Mamontovs, picked up a painted Easter egg and a figurine of a Japanese Daruma. It seemed to him, as a creative person, that two toys made in different parts of the world could be combined with one idea. I thought - I did it: I quickly drew a funny doll on a piece of paper, then again and again ... In the end, when his idea was realized on paper, Malyutin asked a certain turner Zvezdochkin to carve a form from wood, and the artist painted it. So a ruddy girl in a sundress and a scarf, holding a black rooster in her hands, was born. Several other smaller figurines were also hidden in this figurine - seven figurines. The last, eighth, depicted a swaddled baby. Who called the creation nesting dolls is not known for certain. They say that someone, seeing her, exclaimed admiringly: “Well, just Matryona!” So the origin of the peasant woman Matryoshka is not at all plebeian, according to this version of the presentation of events. 

Still, it is surprising how quickly the emigrant doll took root on Russian soil. The eastern section of the eyes was replaced by huge blue eyes, the nesting doll acquired a blush all over her cheek and golden curls, and she completely forgot about her Japanese past - and does not remind anyone of it. Just 10 years after its appearance in Russia, the matryoshka as an original Russian toy received a gold medal at the Paris World Exhibition of 1900! 

Russia. Matryoshka
Some nesting dolls are real works of art. Photo: Henry Romero/Reuters


After the resounding success in Paris, a real “matryoshka boom” began. Foreign orders poured in, and entire craft artels took up the manufacture of a popular export product. The first matryoshka workshops opened in the town of Sergiev Posad near Moscow, the largest center of Russian icon painting. According to tradition, women painted clothes, and men painted faces of dolls, because only men, according to the church canon, learned to paint the faces of saints. , characters of epics and fairy tales. Historical themes were popular: in the womb of Napoleon's nesting dolls, his entire headquarters from the time of 1812 fit, and inside Kutuzov - the headquarters of the Russian army. Matryoshka dolls were not cheap, but the number of orders was constantly growing. Interestingly, already in the 1910s, several German firms carved and painted wooden dolls, passing them off as "genuine Russian nesting dolls." R.-M. Rilke and Herbert Wells. It is known for sure that nesting dolls were among the toys of the children of Tsar Nicholas II - they probably brought them from a pilgrimage in the Trinity-Sergius Lavra. local folk crafts. And today one can unmistakably determine where this or that matryoshka came from. 

Sergiev Posad craftsmen paint nesting dolls in their own way - as if they dress the workpiece in paint, leaving no gaps of bare wood. By the way, this technique is borrowed from icon painting. On the shoulders of the beauty is a scarf, in her hands is a samovar or a basket, for which the people affectionately call her the “hostess”. In the 1910s, Pavloposad nesting dolls came to the Nizhny Novgorod fair, and over time, their nesting dolls began to be made in several local villages at once. The most famous dolls come from the village of Semenovo. They differ from Pavloposadsky ones in more sonorous colors, contrasting combinations of blue, red, green. Semyonovskaya matryoshka certainly holds a bouquet of bright flowers in her hands. Interestingly, it is the local craftsmen who hold the record that got into the Guinness Book: the largest - 72-meter - giantess matryoshka. It was made in Semyonov as a gift to the Japanese government. The city of Vyatka has developed its own, "northern" style of nesting dolls, and it has a special name - "Sudarushka". The "sudarushka" has blond hair and blue eyes, and her outfit is sure to be decorated with a pattern of golden straw.

Russia. Matryoshka
There is still some unsolved mystery in the matryoshka. Photo: Ints Kalnins/Reuters


Each matryoshka doll has two creators – a turner, who carves the wooden base, and an artist, who “enlivens” it with painting. The best material for nesting dolls is soft, pliable linden, less often - birch or alder. The tree is cut down in April, when it is filled with spring juices, cleaned of bark, then for another two long years they patiently “stand” the workpiece in the open air - the trunk should dry out properly, to the very core. Dolls are carved “in ascending order”, starting with the smallest, so it is easier to perfectly fit the sizes. Here you need a real professional - the manufacture of one round blank requires 15 operations. But there are more than a dozen dolls in a set! It is not surprising that every artist strives to find “his” turner, so that from the first steps the matryoshka immaculately falls into the size and shape of the painting conceived by the author.
 
not on the brink of oblivion. With the advent of Soviet power, private artels closed, the old masters left, and yet the secrets of the craft were always passed on only “from hand to hand”. In the 1920s, a special decree was issued that subjected the rows of nesting dolls to ideological cleansing. The "black" lists included not only "clerics and tsarist officials" (this is understandable from the point of view of the new government), but also completely apolitical "goblin and mermaids." “Seditious” dolls were removed from museum expositions, many unique pre-revolutionary exhibits were lost forever… 

As a result, of all the variations of the matryoshka, only one remained - a steep-sided, pop-eyed young lady with circle-shaped cheeks and a frozen smile. Later, in the early 1950s, its in-line production was established. The largest industrial batch of absolutely identical nesting dolls (10 million sets) was produced in the Soviet Union in 1980, on the eve of the Moscow Olympics. And a few artels worked mainly on state orders: huge, artistically painted nesting dolls were often handed over by Soviet leaders to foreign guests as a diplomatic gift. 

Czech Republic. Matryoshka
Shop with Russian nesting dolls in Prague. Photo: David W.Cerny/Reuters


Today, Moscow souvenir stalls are literally overflowing with matryoshka products designed exclusively for overseas guests: Disney cartoon characters compete with Russian rulers, beauties a la Gzhel "have long pushed back the shaggy Beatles. Someone draws quickly and inexpensively, someone - with a claim to artistry - that's why the prices are different.

Still, there is some unsolved mystery in the matryoshka. After all, they tried to paint detachable dolls in Germany, and in France, and in the same Japan. But foreign matryoshkas have not won wide recognition. Perhaps the secret of the Russian nesting doll is that it is always a fairy tale, told step by step, from the oldest doll to the youngest, precisely with Russian sincerity and invention?
Subscribe:

Read also

News

Sport

11.08.2022 18

qatar World Cup

Politics

11.08.2022 19

Japan ministers

Politics

11.08.2022 0

Japan ministers

Science and education

Science and education

Economy and business

11.08.2022 23

electric car

Economy and business

11.08.2022 15

business

Politics

11.08.2022 15

ingushetia

Politics

11.08.2022 14

bahrain

Society

11.08.2022 13

moskalkova

Society

10.08.2022 23

army games

Economy and business

10.08.2022 30

turkey gas

Partner news

https://eabr.org
https://eabr.org/

Открываем Азию для России

Русская красавица с японской родословной | Bigasia.ru

09.07.2018 299 просмотров

Однажды японский мудрец Дарума превратился в крестьянку Матрену — матрешку, которую многие иностранцы называют самым любимым русским сувениром.


Очень уж уверенно эта куколка в крестьянском наряде встала в привычный ряд «исконно русского» – где-то между лаптями, водкой, баней и блинами с икрой. Ну, стереотип такой образовался: и — хоть тресни! - изменить его никак не удается. Даже необычная форма матрешки – внутри одной куклы другая, внутри той – еще одна - удивительным образом перекликается с представлениями о «загадочной русской душе». Ведь в ней, как в луковице, за верхним слоем всегда найдется еще один, а копнешь поглубже – и вообще отыщется много чего интересного.

Цветастый сарафан, расшитая холщовая рубаха, волосы по-монашески убраны под платок… Кажется, расписная девица-красавица пришла к нам, ничуть не меняясь, из старины заветной, из былинного и сказочного мира. А ведь в действительности в старину на Руси о матрешке никто ничего и не слышал: первую разъемную деревянную куколку смастерили в московской мастерской лишь в конце XIX века, да еще — страшно сказать! - это была копия с японской статуэтки. 

Дело было так. В 1891 году в знаменитое имение Абрамцево, принадлежащее российским промышленникам и меценатам Мамонтовым, кто-то из гостей с острова Хонсю привез необычную деревянную статуэтку - с «сюрпризом». Ее можно было разделить на две части, чтобы обнаружить в ней другую спрятанную статуэтку, поменьше. А та, в свою очередь, также состояла из двух половинок… Всего таких фигурок насчитывалось пять, а сама игрушка называлась Дарума – так в Японии зовут бога, приносящего удачу. 

Россия. Матрешка
Россия. Гигантская матрешка в международном аэропорту Адлера. Фото: Murad Sezer/Reuters


Персонаж этот, откровенно говоря, не из русской былины. Дарума всю жизнь провел в пещере, где предавался размышлениям и медитации. Поэтому изображают божка всегда с суровым, сосредоточенным лицом, без рук и ног (на самом деле они отсохли за ненадобностью), а вложенные друг в друга фигурки иллюстрируют пять стадий его пути к просветлению. К счастью, матрешка переняла от Дарумы только форму, а суровый вид оставила своему японскому прародителю.

В то время «абрамцевский кружок» посещали многие российские живописцы, проповедовавшие в искусстве идеи возрождения «подлинно народного стиля». По поводу «отправки» матрешки «в люди» существует несколько различных версий. Одна из них гласит, что как-то раз художник Сергей Малютин, находившийся в гостях у Мамонтовых, взял в руки расписное пасхальное яйцо и фигурку японского Дарумы. Ему, как творческому человеку, показалось, что две игрушки, сделанные в различных частях света, можно объединить одной идеей. Подумал — сделал: быстро нарисовал на листке бумаги смешную куколку, затем снова и снова… В конце концов, когда его идея на бумаге реализовалась, Малютин попросил некого токаря Звездочкина выточил из дерева форму, а художник ее расписал. Вот и появилась на свет Божий румяная девица в сарафане и платке, держащая в руках черного петуха. В эту статуэтку также были запрятаны несколько других помельче — семь фигурок. Последняя, восьмая, изображала спеленатого младенца. Кто назвал творение матрешкой доподлинно неизвестно. Говорят, что кто-то, увидев ее, восхищенно воскликнул: «Ну, прямо Матрена!» Так что происхождение у крестьянки Матрешки совсем не плебейское, если верить этой версии изложения событий. 

Все-таки удивительно, как быстро кукла-эмигрантка прижилась на русской земле. Восточный разрез глаз сменила на огромные синие очи, матрешка обзавелась румянцем во всю щеку и золотистыми кудрями, а о своем японском прошлом напрочь позабыла — и никому о нем не напоминает. Всего через 10 лет после появления в России, матрешка как самобытная русская игрушка получила золотую медаль на Парижской Всемирной выставке 1900 года! 

Россия. Матрешка
Некоторые матрешки - настоящие произведения искусства. Фото: Henry Romero/Reuters


После громкого успеха в Париже начался настоящий «матрешечный бум». Посыпались заграничные заказы, и за изготовление ходового экспортного товара взялись целые ремесленные артели. Первые матрешечные мастерские открылись в подмосковном городке Сергиев Посад, крупнейшем центре русской иконописи. По традиции, женщины расписывали одежду, а мужчины – лица кукол, ведь только мужчины по церковному канону учились писать лики святых. 

Сюжеты для росписи выбирались самые разные: не только круглощекие барышни, но и бородатые богомольцы, богатыри, персонажи былин и сказок. Популярны были исторические темы: во чреве матрешки-Наполеона умещался весь его штаб времен 1812 года, а внутри Кутузова – штаб русской армии. Стоили матрешки недешево, но число заказов постоянно росло. Интересно, что уже в 1910-х годах несколько немецких фирм вытачивали и разрисовывали деревянные куклы, выдавая их за «подлинных русских матрешек». О матрешках восхищенно писали Р.-М. Рильке и Герберт Уэллс. Точно известно, что матрешки были среди игрушек детей царя Николая II, – вероятно, они привезли их с богомолья в Троице-Сергиевой лавре.

Постепенно матрешечный промысел распространился по российским городам и весям, в традиционную роспись кукол вплелись характерные приемы местных народных ремесел. И сегодня можно безошибочно определить, откуда «пришла» та или иная матрешка. 

Сергиевопосадские мастера расписывают матрешек по-своему - заготовку словно одевают в краску, не оставляя прогалин голого дерева. Кстати, эта техника, заимствованная из иконописи. На плечах у красавицы – платок, в руках – самовар или лукошко, за что в народе ее ласково называют «хозяюшкой». В 1910-х годах павлопосадские матрешки попали на Нижегородскую ярмарку, а со временем своих матрешек начали изготавливать сразу в нескольких местных селах. Самые известные куклы – родом из села Семеново. От павлопосадских они отличаются более звонкими цветами, контрастными сочетаниями синего, красного, зеленого. Семеновская матрешка непременно держит в руках букет ярких цветов. Интересно, что именно здешним мастерам принадлежит рекорд, попавший в Книгу Гиннесса: самая большая – 72-метровая – матрешка-великанша. Ее сделали в Семенове в дар японскому правительству. В городе Вятка сложился свой, «северный», стиль матрешки, и имя у нее особенное – «сударушка». У «сударушки» – светлые волосы и голубые очи, а ее наряд обязательно украшает узор из золотистой соломки.

Россия. Матрешка
В матрешке все-таки есть какая-то неразгаданная тайна. Фото: Ints Kalnins/Reuters


У каждой матрешки два создателя – токарь, вытачивающий деревянную основу, и художник, «оживляющий» ее росписью. Лучший материал для матрешки – мягкая, податливая липа, реже - береза или ольха. Дерево спиливают в апреле, когда оно наполнено весенними соками, очищают от коры, затем еще два долгих года терпеливо «выдерживают» заготовку на открытом воздухе, - ствол должен как следует просохнуть, до самой сердцевины. Кукол вытачивают «по возрастающей», начиная с самой маленькой, - так легче идеально подогнать размеры. Здесь нужен настоящий профессионал – изготовление одной круглой болванки требует 15 операций. А ведь кукол в наборе бывает больше десятка! Неудивительно, что каждый художник стремится найти «своего» токаря, чтобы с первых шагов матрешка безукоризненно попадала в размер и форму задуманной автором росписи.
 
Тем не менее, настали времена, когда уникальное искусство русской матрешки оказалось чуть ли не на грани забвения. С приходом советской власти закрылись частные артели, ушли старые мастера, а ведь секреты ремесла всегда передавались только «из рук в руки». В 1920-е годы вышел специальный декрет, подвергнувший ряды матрешек идеологической чистке. В «черные» списки попали не только «священнослужители и царские чиновники» (это с точки зрения новой власти объяснимо), но и совершенно аполитичные «лешие и русалки». «Крамольных» кукол изымали из экспозиций музеев, многие уникальные дореволюционные экспонаты были навсегда утеряны… 

В результате из всех вариаций матрешки осталась единственная – крутобокая лупоглазая барышня со щечками-кружочками и застывшей улыбкой. Позже, в начале 1950-х, было налажено ее поточное производство. Самая большая промышленная партия совершенно одинаковых матрешек (10 млн. наборов) была произведена в Советском Союзе в 1980 году, в канун Московской Олимпиады. А немногочисленные артели работали в основном по госзаказу: огромные, художественно расписанные матрешки часто вручались советскими лидерами иностранным гостям в качестве дипломатического дара. 

Чехия. Матрешка
Магазин с русскими матрешками в Праге. Фото: David W.Cerny/Reuters


Сегодня московские сувенирные ларьки буквально переполнены рассчитанной исключительно на заморских гостей матрешечной продукцией: персонажи диснеевских мультиков соперничают с российскими правителями, красавицы «а-ля Гжель» уже давно потеснили патлатых Битлов. Кто-то рисует быстро и недорого, кто-то – с претензией на художественность — поэтому и цены разные.

Все-таки есть в матрешке какая-то неразгаданная тайна. Вот ведь пытались расписывать разъемных кукол и в Германии, и во Франции, и в той же Японии. Но широкого признания матрешки-иностранки так и не завоевали. Может, секрет русской матрешки в том, что она – всегда волшебная сказка, рассказанная шаг за шагом, от старшей куклы – к младшей, именно с русской задушевностью и выдумкой?

Читайте также

Обзоры

Обзоры

Обзоры

18.09.2018 321

Япона баня

Обзоры

Новости

Экономика и бизнес

Культура и отдых

Экономика и бизнес

Новости партнёров