Opening Asia for Russia

10.09.2019 104 просмотров

In our last publication, more attention was paid to the history of Wrangel Island - a legendary place on Earth that like a magnet attracts some desperate travelers and scientists. Below we will talk about the fauna of this mysterious and harsh region.


Today the reserve "Wrangel Island" is considered the northernmost of the reserves of the Far East of Russia. It was established back in Soviet times - in 1976. The island itself is a rare find for scientists, since its territories are distinguished by an exceptional biological diversity of species for the Arctic. No, it is not for nothing that it has the status of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A unique autonomous system has been developing in conditions of complete isolation from the outside world for the past few tens of thousands of years. In the reserve, scientists have counted over 400 species of plants, about 170 species of birds, and on Herald Island, which also belongs to Wrangel Island, the world's largest concentration of polar bear birth dens has been recorded.

Polar cubs on Wrangel Island
Photo: twitter .com



It is believed that bears are not afraid of either frost or cold waters of the Arctic seas . No, this is not entirely true - extreme cold is dangerous for everyone. And if this is inevitable, then you need to properly prepare for the process. Therefore, from September to November, bears literally come to the island in droves to equip dens for themselves. Usually they equip their temporary shelters on the slopes of a mountainous area. They say that sometimes more than two hundred bear dwellings were found in deep snowdrifts. Maybe that's why Wrangel Island is called the "bear maternity hospital of the Arctic." In April, mothers with offspring wake up from a long hibernation and gradually leave the land that sheltered them. The whole family goes on a big journey - the cubs must learn all the delights of the Arctic life. It is more convenient to learn to catch seals from the ice. Mom actively helps them in this.

Musk oxen on Wrangel Island
Photo: liveinternet.ru



Another attraction of the rarely friendly island is furry musk oxen. They look like giant brown bears that accidentally got lost in the vast expanses of the Arctic. Animals have long and thick hair, so they look more massive than they really are. They see perfectly in the dark, find food even deep under the snow. In fact, these animals once grazed along with mammoths in the meadows of the northern prairies. Then, however, they died. Everything is clear with mammoths - they have not been in this world for a long time, but musk oxen, which are also called musk oxen, have been preserved in icy Greenland. From there, earlier, several individuals were moved to Wrangel Island by people. Animals, it should be noted, felt themselves satisfactorily there - not only successfully endured wintering, but even managed to have offspring. Now the herd has grown noticeably in size. And why, in fact, these "living fossils" do not take root here? They have no natural enemies on the island, and there is no need to be afraid of hunters - the island is considered a nature reserve, there is only a place on it for a person with a camera and a movie camera. And he doesn't show up here very often. And no poacher or hunter with a gun!

Now, if musk oxen are ever resettled in Chukotka, then, perhaps, these animals will have to win their place under the sun, fighting wolves. But the polar strong men will probably not disappear there either: gloomy stag-daddies will stand in a circular defense, placing females and calves in a circle - go get to them! And they will stand like that, without moving, for days. Wolves run around, run, and then they will probably get tired of this activity, and they will go home - to look for other prey.

Reindeer on Wrangel Island
Photo: greenpeace .org



By the way, reindeer appeared in these parts after the development of the island man. In 1947, winterers brought several individuals to the island. They pursued quite mercantile goals - they used artiodactyls mainly as a means of transportation. But over time, some elk fled - went wild and, not having met the enemy in the face of the polar wolf, also multiplied surprisingly quickly, adapting to the local climate. These "northern mustangs" can now be found all over the island - including in the hinterland. Especially a lot of them gather there in autumn, when coastal life stops. Bird colonies become inaudible, bears fall asleep in dens, only musk oxen and deer sullenly trample in places protected from the piercing wind, picking reindeer moss with their hooves from time to time. Yes, rare snowy owls, left for the winter, occasionally rustle their wings at night in search of some mouse-like rodent - a lemming.

Lemming
Photo: theecology.ru



This motley animal is surprisingly tenacious. Finds food even under a deep layer of snow. Sometimes lemmings breed on the island so much - there was such a thing! - that unites in large columns and goes to the sea ... to drown. Scientists broke their heads over this mysterious phenomenon. They saw with their own eyes how the rodents threw themselves into the water and swam until their strength left them and they drowned. But a reasonable answer to this phenomenon has not been found - more and more conjectures and assumptions. But the birds and animals that inhabit the island - owls and gulls, crows and arctic foxes - do not feel any remorse. During this period, they arrange a real celebration of the stomach. What is there to say! Even bears go on a "mouse diet".

In the 16th century, an English captain who saw walruses - these largest animals of the Arctic, reaching a length of four meters and weighing about two tons -  made an entry in the ship's log: "The beast on earth is unprecedented and the appearance of the devil." In fact, the walrus, according to many scientists, is not as ferocious and scary as it looks outwardly. But neither a man nor a bear risks joking with him. And the walruses of Wrangel Island are considered the largest walruses on the planet. The average body length of males reaches 3 meters, and they weigh from 1.7 to 2 tons. But these are the largest individuals - on average, walruses weigh about a ton. Their tusks grow up to 80 centimeters - this is in males, while in females they are smaller - about 40 centimeters. Tusks are needed by walruses for various purposes - with their help they fight, climb onto the ice, punch holes in the thickness of the ice.

Wrangel Island walruses
Photo: guidarte.blogspot.com



Sensing danger, the old male walrus transforms, his eyes become bloodshot, his tusks menacingly rise, and the whole body of the animal, at first glance, seems to be fat and awkward, instantly turns into a solid lump of muscles. The roar is so fierce that any living creature's soul goes to the heels. And so the beast, in general, is harmless - you know, it is lying on its rookery, in a normal situation it worries only its own kind. And even then only in the mating season, when you have to fight with rivals for females. In the rest of the time, when the huge lump is not dozing, he is more concerned with the problem of his own food - he usually plows the bottom near the coast with tusks in search of shellfish. Then it crawls out onto land and drags its brownish-brown carcass to the chosen place, clearing the living space with it. And it works with its tusks like a bucket excavator - so much so that sometimes you only wonder how it manages not to cut through its creeping relatives, just as impressive and purposeful. Small fights, however, do happen, but usually skirmishes do not last long: in the wild, the law operates in all its glory - whoever is stronger is right.

It is also interesting to watch the walruses. These have no respect for anyone - neither to mothers, nor to large males, whose mighty fangs will make anyone alert. But just don't walrus! Cubs unceremoniously crawl over the carcasses of adults when they rush to the water. Some walruses groan with displeasure and, sometimes, slap a negligent cub with a flipper, but it seems that it does not react to this - sometimes it only grunts with displeasure and hurries on its way further.

Wrangel Island
Photo: bbc.co.uk



The number of walruses on Wrangel Island reaches several thousand individuals. They live in colonies. Watching them from the side is a special pleasure. Especially for dense male walruses, which have not yet lost their strength. They behave like real usurpers. The whole life of the walrus colony is subject to a strict hierarchy. Sometimes local revolutions happen - one giant overthrows another, and power passes from one mastodon to another. The clash between them sometimes goes not a joke, to a lot of blood. It happens that the confrontation between males ends with the death of one of them. Leaders often fight to the death - for power, for the right to possess females ... In a word, almost like people, only everything happens more straightforwardly and frankly, without falsehood and lies, or something. Some winterers tell stories in which walruses act as bear abusers. Hungry bears forget about elementary caution. You can pay a lot for this! So you will think about who is the real owner of the Arctic - a walrus or a polar bear?

Subscribe:

News

Partner news

https://www.mos.ru/dvms/
ТЕЛЕКАНАЛ «БОЛЬШАЯ АЗИЯ» И «ЯПОНСКИЙ ФОНД» ПРЕДСТАВЛЯЮТ!

Открываем Азию для России

Остров Врангеля — остров забвения (Ч. 2)

10.09.2019 Олег Мироненко 316 просмотров

В прошлой нашей публикации больше внимания уделялось истории острова Врангеля - легендарного места на Земле, которое магнитом притягивает некоторых отчаянных путешественников и ученых. Ниже речь пойдет о фауне этого загадочного и сурового края.


Сегодня заповедник «остров Врангеля» считается самым северным из заповедников дальнего Востока России. Учрежден он был еще в советские времена — в 1976 году. Сам же остров — редкая находка для учёных, так как его территории отличаются исключительным для Арктики биологическим разнообразием видов. Нет, не зря он имеет статус объекта Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Уникальная автономная система развивалась в условиях полной изоляции от внешнего мира последние несколько десятков тысяч лет. В заповеднике ученые насчитали свыше 400 видов растений, около 170 видов птиц, а на острове Геральд, который также относится к острову Врангеля, зафиксирована самая большая в мире концентрация родовых берлог белого медведя.

Белые медвежата на острове Врангеля
Фото: twitter.com



Считается, что медведи не бояться ни морозов, ни холодных вод арктических морей. Нет, это не совсем так — экстремальный холод опасен для всех. А уж если это неизбежность, то к процессу нужно хорошенько подготовиться. Поэтому с сентября по ноябрь мишки приходят на остров буквально толпами, чтобы оборудовать для себя берлоги. Обычно свои временные приюты они обустраивают на склонах гористой местности. Рассказывают, что иногда обнаруживали более двухсот медвежьих жилищ в глубоких сугробах. Может, остров Врангеля поэтому и называют «медвежьим родильным домом Арктики». В апреле мамаши с потомством пробуждаются от долгой спячки и постепенно покидают приютившую их землю. Всё семейство отправляется в большое путешествие – детеныши должны узнать все прелести арктической жизни. Учиться ловить тюленей удобнее со льда. Мама им в этом активно помогает.

Овцебыки на острове Врангеля
Фото: liveinternet.ru



Другая достопримечательность редко приветливого острова – мохнатые овцебыки. Они похожи на гигантских бурых медведей, случайно заблудившихся в бескрайних арктических просторах. У животных длинная и густая шерсть, поэтому они выглядят массивнее, чем есть на самом деле. Они прекрасно видят в темноте, находят еду даже глубоко под снегом. На самом деле эти животные когда-то вместе с мамонтами паслись на лугах северных прерий. Потом, правда, вымерли. С мамонтами все понятно — их нет на этом свете давно, а вот овцебыки, которых еще называют мускусными быками, сохранились в ледяной Гренландии. Оттуда ранее несколько особей и переместили на остров Врангеля люди. Животные, нужно отметить, почувствовали там себя удовлетворительно – не только удачно переносили зимовки, но и сумели даже завести потомство. Теперь стадо заметно выросло в размерах. А почему, собственно, этим «живым ископаемым» тут не прижиться? Естественных врагов на острове у них нет, да и охотников опасаться не нужно – остров-то считается заповедником, на нём находится место лишь человеку с фотоаппаратом и кинокамерой. Да и то не так уж и часто он тут появляется. И никакого браконьера или охотника с ружьём!

Вот если овцебыков когда-нибудь переселят на Чукотку, тогда, возможно, этим животным придётся завоевывать себе место под солнцем, сражаясь с волками. Но полярные крепыши и там, наверное, не пропадут: встанут в круговую оборону угрюмые рогачи-папаши, поместив в круг самок и телят, - поди доберись до них! И будут так стоять, не шелохнувшись, сутками. Волки побегают вокруг, побегают, а потом им наверняка надоест это занятие, и они отправятся восвояси – искать другую добычу.

Северные олени на острове Врангеля
Фото: greenpeace.org



Кстати говоря, и северные олени в здешних краях появились уже после освоения острова человеком. В 1947 году зимовщики привезли на остров несколько особей. Преследовали они вполне меркантильные цели – парнокопытные ими использовались в основном как средство передвижения. Но со временем некоторые сохатые убежали – одичали и, не повстречав врага в лице полярного волка, тоже удивительно быстро размножились, приспособившись к местному климату. Вот этих «северных мустангов» теперь можно повстречать по всему острову – в том числе и во внутренних районах. Особенно много их там собирается осенью, когда прибрежная жизнь замирает. Не слышно становится птичьих базаров, медведи засыпают в берлогах, лишь овцебыки и олени угрюмо топчутся в защищённых от пронзительного ветра местечках, ковыряя время от времени копытами ягель. Да редкие полярные совы, оставшиеся на зимовку, изредка прошумят крыльями в ночи в поисках какого-нибудь мышевидного грызуна – лемминга.

Лемминг
Фото: theecology.ru



Этот пёстрый зверёк удивительно живуч. Находит корм даже под глубоким слоем снега. Иногда лемминги размножается на острове так сильно — было и такое! – что объединяется в большие колонны и направляется к морю… топиться. Учёные голову сломали над этим загадочным явлением. Они собственными глазами видели как грызуны бросались в воду и плыли до тех пор, пока силы их не оставляли и они не тонули. Но разумный ответ на это явление так и не нашёлся — всё больше догадок и предположений. Зато птицы и зверьё, населяющее остров, - совы и чайки, вороны и песцы - не испытывают никаких угрызений совести. В этот период они устраивают настоящий праздник живота. Да что там говорить! Даже медведи садятся на «мышиную диету».

В XVI веке один английский капитан, увидевший моржей, – этих самых крупных зверей Арктики, достигающих в длину четырёх метров и весящих около двух тонн, -  сделал запись в корабельном журнале: «Зверь на земле невиданный и облика дьявольского». На самом деле морж, согласно мнению многих учёных, не настолько свиреп и страшен, как выглядит внешне. Но шутить с ним не рискует ни человек, ни медведь. А моржи острова Врангеля считаются самыми крупными моржами на планете. Средняя длина туловища самцов достигает 3 метров, а весят они от 1,7 до 2 тонн. Но это самые крупные особи — в среднем моржи весят около тонны. Их бивни вырастают до 80 сантиметров — это у самцов, у самок же они поменьше — примерно 40 сантиметров. Бивни нужны моржам для различных целей — с их помощью они дерутся, залезают на лёд, пробивают отверстия в толще льда.

Моржи острова Врангеля
Фото: guidarte.blogspot.com



Почувствовав опасность, старый морж-самец преображается, его глаза наливаются кровью, бивни грозно поднимаются, а всё тело животного, на первый взгляд вроде бы жирное и неуклюжее, мгновенно превращается в сплошной комок мышц. Рев стоит такой свирепый, что у любого живого существа душа в пятки уходит. А так зверюга, в общем-то, безобидная – знай себе валяется на своем лежбище, в обычной ситуации беспокоит лишь себе подобных. Да и то только в брачный сезон, когда приходится драться с соперниками за самок. В остальное же время, когда огромный увалень не дремлет, он больше озабочен проблемой собственного пропитания – обычно пашет бивнями дно у берега в поисках моллюсков. Потом выползет на сушу и тащит в облюбованное местечко свою коричневато-бурую тушу, расчищая ею жизненное пространство. И бивнями работает как ковшовый экскаватор - да так, что порой только удивляешься, как это ему удаётся не пропороть насквозь рядом ползающих сородичей, таких же внушительных и целеустремлённых. Небольшие потасовки, правда, случаются, но обычно стычки не длятся долго: в дикой природе во всей своей красе действует закон – кто сильнее, тот и прав.

Интересно наблюдать и за моржатами. У этих нет почтения ни к кому – ни к мамашам, ни к крупным самцам, могучие клыки которых заставят насторожиться любого. Но только не моржат! Детёныши бесцеремонно ползут по тушам взрослых особей, когда спешат к воде. Некоторые моржихи спросонья недовольно порыкивают и, бывает, нашлёпают ластом нерадивому детёнышу, но тот, кажется, и не реагирует на это – иногда только недовольно хрюкает и спешит своей дорогой дальше.

Остров Врангеля
Фото: bbc.co.uk



Численность моржей на острове Врангеля достигает несколько тысяч особей. Они живут колониями. Наблюдать за ними со стороны – особое удовольствие. Особенно за дремучими моржами-самцами, которые пока не потеряли силу. Они ведут себя как настоящие узурпаторы. Вся жизнь колонии моржей подчинена строгой иерархии. Иногда случаются локальные революции – один гигант свергает другого, а власть переходит от одного мастодонта к другому. Сшибка между ними порой идёт не шуточная, до большой крови. Бывает, что противостояние самцов заканчивается смертью одного из них. Вожаки часто бьются насмерть – за власть, за право обладать самками… Одним словом, почти как у людей, только всё происходит более прямолинейно и откровенно, без фальши и лжи, что ли. Некоторые зимовщики рассказывают истории, в которых моржи выступают в роли обидчиков медведей. Голодные медведи забывают об элементарной осторожности. За это можно здорово поплатиться! Вот и задумаешься о том, кто всё же настоящий хозяин Арктики – морж или белый медведь?

Читайте также

Обзоры

05.03.2018 1767

Ночная Доха

Обзоры

Обзоры

31.12.2017 1117

Люди Токио

Обзоры

Обзоры

Новости

Наука и образование

Экономика и бизнес

Культура и отдых

Наука и образование

Наука и образование

Новости партнёров