Opening Asia for Russia

26.03.2018 178 просмотров

The main strategic wealth of the UAE is not oil, which will eventually run out, but purebred horses.


Arabs love horse racing. The generation of Bedouins, who rode through the desert on fast camels and frisky horses, has not yet gone into oblivion. Equestrian competitions in the UAE are held regularly - in the cool months they gather tens of thousands of spectators at various hippodromes.

The Arabian horse has always been distinguished by its unsurpassed grace. Persistent and hardy, with a short back and a small head, she always arouses admiration among connoisseurs and the pride of the owners. This feeling is intensified when you look into the large intelligent eyes of the animal, which glow with awareness of its own magnificence.

The purebred breed has been improved for many centuries. It is no coincidence that Arabian horses are considered the fastest and hardiest. Previously, the Arabian horse has always served as an excellent gift, which both sheikhs themselves and their foreign guests gladly accepted.

Horse racing in the Emirates has long been an integral part of traditional Arab culture.

UAE Horse Racing< br> One of the princes of Saudi Arabia with his favorite horse. Photo: Ali Jarekji/Reuters


Previously, German archaeologists discovered the skeletons of horses that lived around 300 AD .e. From Bedouin folklore, one can learn that the first horse was domesticated on the territory of modern Saudi Arabia, and all other Arabian horses allegedly originated from it.

Legends are legends, but the reality may turn out to be completely different. Some experts argue that modern elite Arabian horses are not bred at all in their homeland. So, there is evidence that back in the 18th century, Arabian stallions named Darley Arabian and Beyerley Turk were transported to Great Britain from the Middle East. Allegedly, in order to give local breeds of horses greater endurance as a result of selection. Another stallion - Godolphin Arabian - according to legend, came to Foggy Albion thanks to a certain British aristocrat who discovered him in ... Paris, harnessed to a cart. As a result of numerous breeding experiments, a thoroughbred riding horse appeared, one of the most frisky in the world.

United Arab Emirates, racing
Purebred Arabian horses received a "registration" in the stables of many sheikhs. Photo: Reuters< /i>


An interesting fact: in the early 1960s, many Arab countries lost their entire stock of thoroughbred horses. A whole series of wet winters was to blame for everything, with which came hordes of insects infected with a deadly disease - African plague. Many purebred horses died.

However, the interest of the Arabs in breeding purebred breeds remained - the descendants of the Bedouins took up their favorite and prestigious business with even greater zeal. So, at the end of 1969, Sheikh Maktoum started the construction of the first hippodrome. In England, thoroughbred mares were bought up for fabulous money. This was also facilitated by petrodollars pouring into the region in an endless stream. Over time, the UAE has its own federation of racing horse breeding, hippodromes were built one after another, auctions of breeding horses were organized. The latter, as expected, gave a powerful impetus to the development of horse racing. Thoroughbred Arabian horses returned to their ancestral home, having received a "registration" in the stables of the sheikhs.

Every year in winter in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and some other emirates, horse races are held. The most frisky horses and experienced jockeys take part in the competition. One of the most prestigious competitions in the horse racing calendar is the Dubai World Cup with a multi-million dollar prize pool. The amount of bets is over $100 million. Betting is not allowed at the races in Dubai, but viewers can still guess the winners - for which they receive a cash reward if the forecast turned out to be accurate.

 UAE, horse racing
Participating in the Dubai World Cup is everyone's dream jockey.  Photo: Ahmed Jadallah/Reuters


Upper class society from around the world - including politicians, show business stars and the film industry, trendsetters, etc. — drop their business and arrive in the UAE. Traditionally, the event takes place at the end of March each year - it completes the equestrian season, which begins in November in the UAE. Taking your horse to the competition is the dream of every horse owner. To participate in the Cup is the dream of every jockey. Watching competitions from the stands is the dream of every racing fan. Dubai horse racing is sometimes called the unofficial Olympic Games, since the list of participating countries is very representative.


Horse Passions

Perfectly beautiful thoroughbred trotters are flying through the air. Who will win and cross the finish line first? Races, races, races…

Usually, every last Saturday of March, the ultra-modern Meydan Hippodrome, whose stands can accommodate more than 60,000 spectators, hosts the Dubai World Cup - only eight races. By the way, the fashionable Meydan Hotel is also located near the hippodrome, from the rooms of which you can also watch the races.

Usually, the Cup is opened by the first race - Dubai Kahayla Classic. At first, only horses of the Arabian breed compete. For thoroughbred riding - all the other races, each has its own impressive prize money.

Serious passions flare up. Because the price of victory is high: the prize millions are received not only by the owner of the winning horse, but also by the jockey. Wealthy Arab families are buying up stables all over the world. Their horses win many major races in Europe, the USA and Australia. And it's also a passion - to always be the first. Many wealthy Arabs can afford this "illness".

A highly respected audience gathers at the races in Dubai - crown princes and princesses, the richest people on the planet, the largest horse owners and breeders. Visiting the Dubai Equestrian Olympics is fashionable, prestigious, and sometimes very profitable, because very necessary acquaintances take place here. It is after the Dubai Cup that the absolute world champion is determined by the sum of points (they are awarded for the first five places in each of the races) - the best horse on the planet.

UAE , horse racing
The winner of the Cup will receive not only a solid monetary reward, but also great respect. Photo: Ahmed Jadallah/Reuters


Arabs have borrowed many horse racing traditions from Great Britain, which is distinguished by its love of conservatism. At competitions in Dubai, there are almost the same ancient rules and rituals as, for example, at the Royal Ascot, where not only thoroughbred horses compete, but also high society fashionistas accompanying their gentlemen - big fans of equestrian sports entertainment.
< br> As a rule, such events are not only a hippodrome, but also a lot of entertainment events. For example, ladies demonstrate their extravagant attire to others. Sharia law prohibits women from dressing in this way, but during the Cup period this restriction is temporarily lifted. A competition for the best women's headdress is also invariably held - this tradition came from England. What kind of hats will not be seen by the audience during the famous Dubai World Cup! Those who are fed up with all these hats and unusual attire of ladies can take part in another significant event - go to the "Breakfast with the Stars", where it will be interesting to talk with jockeys, horse owners and horse breeders.

Pay to visit the hippodrome nothing is needed - usually money is charged only for the VIP-tribune. True, there is a rather strict dress code at the Dubai World Cup - no one is allowed into the stands in jeans and T-shirts.

https://eabr.org
Анонс новых телепрограмм сезона 2018

Открываем Азию для России

ОАЭ: непревзойдённая грация аравийских лошадей | Bigasia.ru

26.03.2018 Олег Мироненко 429 просмотров

Главное стратегическое богатство ОАЭ – вовсе не нефть, которая когда-нибудь обязательно закончится, а чистокровные скакуны.


Арабы любят скачки. Не ушло ещё в небытие поколение бедуинов, гонявших по пустыне на быстроходных верблюдах и резвых лошадях. Конные состязания в ОАЭ проводятся регулярно - в прохладные месяцы на различных ипподромах собирают они десятки тысяч зрителей.

Аравийская лошадь всегда отличалась своей непревзойдённой грацией. Стойкая и выносливая, с короткой спиной и небольшой головой, она всегда вызывает восхищение у знатоков и гордость владельцев. Это чувство усиливается, когда смотришь в большие умные глаза животного, так и светящиеся осознанием собственного великолепия.

Чистокровная порода улучшалась многие века. Не случайно арабских скакунов считают самыми быстрыми и выносливыми. Прежде арабская лошадь всегда служила отличным подарком, который с удовольствием принимали как сами шейхи, так и их иноземные гости.

Скачки в Эмиратах давно стали неотъемлемой частью традиционной арабской культуры.

ОАЭ, скачки
Один из принцев Саудовской Аравии со своей любимой лошадью. Фото: Ali Jarekji/Reuters


Ранее немецкие археологи обнаружили скелеты лошадей, живших примерно в 300 году н.э. Из бедуинского фольклора можно почерпнуть информацию о том, что первая лошадь была одомашнена на территории современной Саудовской Аравии, а от неё якобы и произошли все прочие арабские скакуны.

Легенды - легендами, но действительность может оказаться совершенно иной. Некоторые эксперты утверждают, что современные элитные арабские скакуны выведены вовсе не на своей родине. Так, есть сведения, что ещё в XVIII веке арабские жеребцы по кличке Дарлей Арабиан и Бейерлей Терк были перевезены в Великобританию со Среднего Востока. Якобы для того, чтобы в результате селекции придать местным породам лошадей большую выносливость. Ещё один жеребец – Годольфин Арабиан – согласно легенде, попал на Туманный Альбион благодаря некоему британскому аристократу, который обнаружил его в… Париже, запряжённым в ломовую повозку. В результате многочисленных селекционных экспериментов и появилась чистокровная верховая лошадь, одна из самых резвых в мире.

ОАЭ, скачки
Породистые арабские лошади получили «прописку» в конюшнях у многих шейхов. Фото: Reuters


Интересный факт: в начале 1960-х годов многие арабские страны потеряли целое поголовье породистых лошадей. Всему виной стала целая серия влажных зим, с которыми пришли и полчища насекомых, заражённых смертельной болезнью - африканской чумой. Многие чистокровные скакуны погибли.

Однако интерес арабов к разведению чистокровных пород остался — потомки бедуинов с ещё большим усердием взялись за любимое и престижное дело. Так, в конце 1969 года шейх Мактум затеял строительство первого ипподрома. В Англии за баснословные деньги скупались чистокровные кобылы. Этому способствовали и нефтедоллары, полившиеся в регион нескончаемым потоком. Со временем в ОАЭ появилась собственная федерация скакового коневодства, один за другим строились ипподромы, устраивались аукционы племенных лошадей. Последние, как и следовало ожидать, дали мощный толчок развитию скачек. Породистые арабские лошади возвратились на свою прародину, получив «прописку» в конюшнях шейхов.

Каждый год зимой в Дубае, Абу Даби и некоторых других эмиратах проводятся лошадиные скачки. В соревнованиях принимают участие самые резвые скакуны и опытные жокеи. Одно из самых престижных соревнований в спортивном календаре «лошадников» – Dubai World Cup («Дубайский всемирный кубок») с многомиллионным призовым фондом. Сумма ставок — свыше 100 млн долларов. Букмекерская деятельность на скачках в Дубае запрещена, однако зрители всё-таки могут угадывать победителей — за что и получают денежное вознаграждение, если прогноз оказался точным.

ОАЭ, скачки
Участвовать в Dubai World Cup – мечта каждого жокея.  Фото: Ahmed Jadallah/Reuters


Высшие слои общества со всего мира — в том числе политики, звёзды шоу-бизнеса и киноиндустрии, законодатели моды и т.д. — бросают свои дела и прибывают в ОАЭ. Традиционно мероприятие проходит в конце марта каждого года — оно завершает конноспортивный сезон, который в ОАЭ начинается в ноябре. Выставить свою лошадь на соревнования — мечта каждого коневладельца. Участвовать в Кубке – мечта каждого жокея. Посмотреть соревнования с трибун – мечта каждого увлеченного скачками болельщика. Дубайские скачки ещё иногда называют неофициальными Олимпийскими играми, поскольку список стран-участниц весьма представителен.


Лошадиные страсти

Словно по воздуху летят безупречно прекрасные породистые рысаки. Кто победит и пересечёт финишную черту первым? Забеги, забеги, забеги…

Обычно в каждую последнюю субботу марта на ультра-современном ипподроме «Мейдан», трибуны которого вмещают более 60 тыс. зрителей, и проходит Dubai World Cup – всего восемь скачек. Кстати, рядом с ипподромом расположен и фешенебельный отель «Мейдан», из номеров которого также можно наблюдать за забегами.

Обычно Кубок открывает первая скачка - Dubai Kahayla Classic. Сначала соревнуются исключительно скакуны арабской породы. Для чистокровных верховых — все остальные скачки, у каждой - свои внушительные призовые.

Страсти разгораются нешуточные. Потому что цена победы велика: призовые миллионы получает не только хозяин скакуна-победителя, но и жокей. Богатые арабские семейства скупает конюшни по всему миру. Их скакуны выигрывают многие главные скачки Европы, США и Австралии. А ещё это страсть — быть всегда первым. Многие богатые арабы могут позволить себе эту «хворь».

На скачки в Дубае собирается весьма уважаемая публика - наследные принцы и принцессы, богатейшие люди планеты, крупнейшие коневладельцы и конезаводчики. Посетить дубайскую «конную Олимпиаду» - это модно, престижно, порой очень выгодно, ведь здесь происходят очень нужные знакомства. Именно после дубайского Кубка по сумме очков (они присуждаются за первые пять мест в каждой из скачек) определяется абсолютный чемпион мира - лучшая лошадь планеты.

ОАЭ, скачки
Победителя Кубка ждёт не только солидное денежное вознаграждение, но и большое уважение. Фото: Ahmed Jadallah/Reuters


Многие традиции проведения скачек арабы позаимствовали у Великобритании, которая отличается своей любовью к консерватизму. На соревнованиях в Дубае существуют почти такие же стародавние правила и ритуалы, как, например, на Королевских скачках в Аскоте, где соревнуются не только чистокровные скакуны, но и великосветские модницы, сопровождающие своих кавалеров — больших поклонников конно-спортивных развлечений.

Как правило, подобного рода мероприятия — это не только ипподром, но и множество развлекательных мероприятий. Например, дамы демонстрируют окружающим свои экстравагантные одеяния. Законы шариата запрещают женщинам одеваться подобным образом, однако в период проведения Кубка это ограничение временно снимается. Также неизменно проводится конкурс и на лучший женский головной убор — эта традиция пришла из Англии. Каких только шляпок не увидят зрители во время проведения знаменитого Dubai World Cup! Тот, кому все эти шляпки и необычные одеяния дам порядком поднадоели, может поучаствовать в другом знаковом мероприятии — пойти на «Завтрак со звёздами», где будет интересно пообщаться с жокеями, владельцами лошадей и конезаводчиками.

За посещение ипподрома платить ничего не нужно — обычно деньги взимаются лишь за VIP-трибуну. Правда, на Dubai World Cup существует довольно жёсткий дресс-код — в джинсах и майках никого на трибуны не пускают.

Читайте также

Обзоры

Обзоры

Обзоры

Новости

Экономика и бизнес

Культура и отдых

Культура и отдых

Общество

Новости партнёров