Opening Asia for Russia

20.06.2019 204 просмотров

Mahatma Gandhi is an Indian political and public figure who became one of the ideologists of the liberation of India from the British colonizers. 


We continue our story about this outstanding person.


It was in Africa that Gandhi plunged headlong into politics. And it was there that he managed to perfectly master the art of oratory. Subsequently, already at home, according to eyewitnesses, in Indian homes, husbands were worried when their wives put on some jewelry when they went to Gandhi's speeches. And there was reason to be nervous - Gandhi's magical speech in defense of the oppressed worked miracles: gold bracelets and diamond necklaces miraculously passed from the hands and necks of their rich owners to the donation basket. But that was much later…

At the same time, after a two-year stay in Africa, Gandhi's entire family comes to visit. It was at this time that his formation as a politician and as a Mahatma took place. There were more and more public appearances. There was not enough money to support the family - the practice of law almost did not feed (in total, Gandhi had four sons). In addition, we still had to find funds to help the families of comrades-in-arms in civil disobedience campaigns.

Mahatma Gandhi with his associates
Photo: digitalindiapreview .com



With the help of friends, Gandhi purchased a small plot of land and organized a commune that became be called Tolstovskaya farm. Lawyer practice gradually faded into the background. Now his thoughts and hands were occupied with the arrangement of his "brainchild": Gandhi began to learn building skills and plow the land, and also "broadcast the truth" to his associates. Later, he admitted that his whole life was turned upside down by two interconnected events.

First: taking the vow of self-restraint - brahmacharya. From 1906, Gandhi began to differ sharply from other representatives of the Indian intelligentsia in Africa. He no longer imitated the Europeans, and he also renounced property by taking a vow of sexual abstinence. From that time on, Gandhi began to lead an ascetic life of a man who abandoned the cares of the house - he sent his family to Phoenix, where there was a colony of his followers. Outwardly, he looked like a hermit: half-naked, with a staff in his hand - this is how he was remembered by many. Thus began his socio-political ascent of a man named Mahatma.

The second most important event in Gandhi's life was the development of a specific form of social protest movement, which he called "satyagraha", which meant "perseverance in truth." The name itself, by the way, was suggested by his son Maganlal. The meaning of the movement is civil disobedience and non-violent non-cooperation. What did it mean? Everything is very simple: the participants in satyagraha deliberately violated the colonial law, did not resist arrests and, as they say, "squeezed" the situation until the authorities made concessions. Gandhi also insisted that his associates not only did not resist, but did not even allow themselves hostile thoughts towards the enemy. This new method turned out to be so unusual and effective that the foolish, according to the authorities, the Indian hastened to put behind bars.

Gandhi leads public protest in Africa
Photo : cupsoguepictures.com



But the prison did not break Gandhi. Coming out of it, he continued to fight with the tenacity of the doomed. As a result, in 1914, the authorities were forced to sign an agreement with Gandhi, making numerous concessions to the Indians. It was a victory. The year was 1915, and the Mahatma returned to India, where, as it turned out, he had already been elevated to the rank of a national hero, as the whole world was watching his struggle for the rights of his people against the British in Africa.

Gandhi proved in practice that much can be achieved through non-violent means. He became an experienced politician. However, he was severely lacking in knowledge about his own country, which he had not been to for over 20 years.

In the valleys and on the hills

For a whole year, Gandhi traveled around India, met people from the hinterland. Hopes that his country would gain independence were fading right before our eyes. Therefore, it must be conquered - this is the main conclusion reached by the Mahatma. But by what means? This issue has been the subject of lengthy, sometimes tough, discussions with other Indian politicians for a long time. Despite the close friendly ties between Gandhi and Nehru, they saw the methods of struggle for the liberation of the country differently. Once a respectable subject of the British crown, respecting the constitution, Gandhi actively opposes the violation of the equality of all citizens of the empire in the face of the law.

In 1918-1919, when the whole of India was engulfed in the fire of popular unrest due to the refusal of England to fulfill the promise to give the country self-government after the end of the First World War, Gandhi is full of strength and political activity.

Mahatma Gandhi. Public Protxt - Satyagraha.
Photo: unlockcampus.org
< /p>



Once in a dream he had a vision: he needed to organize a one-day “hartal”, something like a nationwide strike, all participants of which should spend this day in fasting and prayers. Even the organizers did not expect such a scale that this strike took: life in all of India froze, from the Himalayas to Cape Comorin all institutions, shops were closed, traffic stopped, the streets were practically empty. The confused government arrests Gandhi. The news that Bapu, the Father, was behind bars shook India. Violent clashes broke out with the police. A lot of blood has been shed. Gandhi was shocked, he publicly admitted that he had made a mistake on a “Himalayan scale” - the masses were not ready for satyagraha. Gandhi announced a three-day penitential fast.

On the same day, April 13, 1919, when Gandhi was about to fast, an unarmed crowd was shot in Amritsar. The last illusions were dispelled. Gandhi said that from now on he no longer has respect for a government that defends its immorality. Gandhi called for a boycott of the colonial regime. It provided for the following forms: refusal of honorary positions and titles, participation in official receptions and events, boycott of English schools, legislative elections, boycott of foreign goods.

Fires blazed all over the country - foreign-made things were burned, rich ladies threw Parisian silks into the fire and dressed in coarse homespun clothes, institutions stopped working, students ignored classes in educational institutions, and thousands of “walkers” went “to people” in the most remote corners of the country, explaining to people the essence of the protest action. For the first time, women took to the streets from domestic confinement - this has never happened in India before.

Many Indian politicians had to obey these trends. Thus, for example, witnesses reported an interesting conversation that took place between Gandhi and Nehru. The latter was far from an ascetic, he liked to live in luxury, dressed in the latest fashion. When well-known events broke out, Nehru, like many other Indians, was forced to put on clothes made of coarse fabric. Reluctantly, he accepted the new trend from the point of view of a radical politician. But what he never managed to give up was good English cigars. Once, when Gandhi was rebuked about this, he reacted like this:

-    But I'm burning them, Bapu!…

Gandhi was a symbolic genius. A fire is a fire! Fire purifies, leaving only pure ashes. Another of his finds is a hand spinning wheel, which fits in perfectly with his theory of “swadeshi” (home-made). This item could be found even in the poorest house. Gandhi declared that with the help of this simple tool of production, the country would do without British textile goods, which would no longer have to be bought at exorbitant prices. He himself learned to spin, made homespun cloth - khadi. It was woven by all without exception, including members of the INC. Gandhi evaporated sea salt with his own hands, thereby breaking the British state monopoly on its production. And he constantly resorted to protest hunger strikes.

Gandhi and Nehru
Photo: vimstory.blogspot.com



Starving together with Mahatma and his wife Kastarubai, who played her role in that tense drama into which their life together has turned. Castarubai followed her husband to prison, shared his three-week fasts with him, and fully bore her share of the heavy burden of other endless duties. She paid tribute to Gandhi in this way: “I thank you for giving me the honorable opportunity to be your companion and assistant throughout my life. I thank you that our marriage was the most perfect, based on brahmacharya and not sexuality. I thank you for considering me your equal in your lifelong work for the good of India.”

The country at that time was advancing by leaps and bounds towards freedom. It seemed that a little more - and the hated regime would collapse. But the unexpected happened. In the village of Chaura-Chaura, the police started shooting at the protesters. The angry mob managed to twist the shooters and push them into the hut, after which it was set on fire. Gandhi reacted instantly. And he offered to end the company. He was not understood even by close associates, who tried in vain to convince him of the unreasonableness of interrupting the uprising from a political point of view. But Mahatma was implacable: violence is unacceptable.

“I must say that those who believe and prove that murderers can benefit India are deeply ignorant ... Even if they manage to drive out the British - who will rule country instead of them? There is only one answer: killers. Who will they make happy?

In these words, the whole of Gandhi is Bapu. And the people listened to him, the unrest gradually ceased to the joy of the authorities, stupefied by such an outcome, who could not even imagine that the revolutionary campaign would suddenly be interrupted at the call of only one person. History has never seen anything like it.

Non-violence is implicated in blood

On the eve of World War II, Mahatma lived in one of his many communities - ashrams - in the town of Vardha. According to eyewitnesses, this little saint radiated physical, mental and spiritual health. His gentle brown eyes sparkled with intelligence, sincerity and understanding. Already at that time, the Mahatma communicated exclusively with pen and paper on Mondays, taking another vow - a vow of one-day silence. And it worked, it worked…

Mahatma Gandhi
Photo: wpagandhi. blogspot.com



And India? India takes part in the war on the side of Great Britain. It could not have been otherwise. The colony contributed to the victory over fascism: its resources worked for the war, and the Indian soldiers were cannon fodder.

During this period, India still remained a country torn apart by all sorts of contradictions - communal, ethnic, religious, finally. And then there was the internal opposition. Not even an opposition, but an entire army led by Subhas Chandra Bose. Once this man was an ally of Gandhi and Nehru, and now he led the army, which took the side of the Japanese, who approached the eastern border of India. Indian Muslims are still stirring here. Their leader named Jinnah, Gandhi's fellow countryman and also a lawyer, persistently demanded that England agree to the creation of a separate Muslim state - Pakistan. But Churchill, in his characteristic manner of cunning and leading everyone by the nose, only gave oath promises to return to this issue after the end of the war. However, he had his own reason - he did not believe that the Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs would be able to unite in the fight against colonial rule.

Gandhi was indignant. He was well aware that under the current conditions it was not possible to organize satyagraha. Fearing riots, he nevertheless puts forward the slogan "Get out of India!", suggesting that the British give the colony "to the will of God or the arbitrariness of anarchy." Then Gandhi uttered the historic words: "Act or die!". This time, the government reacted instantly - the entire leadership of the National Congress (including Gandhi) ended up where dissidents were sent at all times, that is, behind bars.

And the people stirred. It was no longer possible to stop the protest movement. Mass riots began. The authorities responded according to the law of war - rivers of blood were shed again. Several tens of thousands of people died. Gandhi was declared the instigator of the riots. And he, in response to these insinuations, again resorted to the most accessible form of protest for him - a three-week hunger strike. Alas, this time without success - he only miraculously survived, although he did not achieve any significant result with his action.

Gandhi failed to get close to the "brother Jinnah", who by that time was already terminally ill with tuberculosis and wanted to meet his death hour as the ruler of a Muslim state. Therefore, the calls of the “nosy fox” (as Jinnah disparagingly called Gandhi) to resolve the conflict between Muslims and Hindus were answered evasively and ambiguously.

The division of India, against the will of Gandhi, nevertheless took place. The fratricidal Hindu-Muslim slaughter continued after the war. England understood that it would hardly be possible to keep India, even if she was drowned in rivers of blood. Therefore, in order to maintain their reputation, the British made it clear to Indian nationalists that they were ready to grant independence to the country, but on one condition - British India would be divided into two parts: Muslim Pakistan and Hindu India. Many politicians liked this idea: it gave them a real opportunity to come to power and resolve political differences between the INC and the Muslim League.

Mahatma Gandhi
Photo: talgroupinc.wordpress.com



Mahatma Gandhi was no longer particularly happy about the independence of India: after the partition of the country, the movement millions of people came, a great "exodus" began - the Hindus rushed to India, the Muslims to Pakistan. There was no end to the bloody skirmishes. Entire cities of refugees sprang up. More than 400,000 people gathered in Delhi alone. In total, more than 6 million Muslims and 4.5 million Hindus moved from one country to another. At the same time, about 700 thousand people died. Terrible tragedy!

Officially, the division of the country took place on August 15, 1947. Gandhi spent that day, praying and fasting, in Calcutta, in the same Calcutta, where exactly a year ago he tried to stop the bloody massacre - risking his life, he then made a peacekeeping trip to the surrounding villages, where the flames of the pogroms had spread. But the Muslim population did not hear him, they followed Jinnah and were ready to die for Pakistan.

Fifteen times Gandhi staged hunger strikes - the last time in independent India, protesting against religious pogroms.

...The first attempt on the life of Mahatma Gandhi occurred on January 20, 1948, two days after he ended his last hunger strike. Then he addressed the believers from the veranda of his house in Delhi. A Punjabi refugee named Madanlal threw a pipe bomb at him. The device exploded, but no one was hurt.

Gandhi was offered protection, but Bapu refused it, saying: “If I am destined to die from a madman's bullet, I will do it with a smile. God must be in my heart and on my lips."

Exactly ten days later, Gandhi was shot dead by the chauvinistic Hindu fanatic Nathuram Godse. It happened during prayer. Mahatma Gandhi slowly sank to the ground with three bullets in his weakening and fading body, he raised his hands in the traditional Indian gesture of greeting, silently testifying to his forgiveness.

A few days later, his son Ramdas lit the funeral pyre. Tongues of flame merged into one fiery column. Gandhi's body turned to ash and ashes. This was his last sacrifice on the altar of freedom and unity of India.

Subscribe:

News

Economy and business

Culture and recreation

Economy and business

Partner news

Деловой совет по сотрудничеству с Индией
ТЕЛЕКАНАЛ «БОЛЬШАЯ АЗИЯ» И «ЯПОНСКИЙ ФОНД» ПРЕДСТАВЛЯЮТ!

Открываем Азию для России

Махатма Ганди: Борец за независимость Индии

20.06.2019 Олег Мироненко 170 просмотров

Махатма Ганди — индийский политический и общественный деятель, который стал одним из идеологов освобождения Индии от колонизаторов-англичан. Мы продолжаем наш рассказ об этом выдающимся человеке.


Именно в Африке Ганди с головой окунулся в политику. И именно там ему удалось в совершенстве овладеть ораторским мастерством. Впоследствии, уже на родине, по словам очевидцев, в индийских домах мужья беспокоились, когда их жены надевали какие-нибудь драгоценности, отправляясь на выступления Ганди. И было отчего нервничать - магическая речь Ганди в защиту угнетенных производила чудеса: золотые браслеты и алмазные ожерелья чудесным образом переходили с рук и шей их богатых обладательниц в корзину для пожертвований. Но это было уже много позже…

Тогда же, после двухлетнего пребывания в Африке, к Ганди приезжает и вся его семья. Именно в это время происходит его становление как политического деятеля и как Махатмы. Общественных выступлений становилось все больше. Денег содержать семью не хватало – адвокатская практика почти не кормила (всего у Ганди было четверо сыновей). К тому же, приходилось еще находить средства, чтобы помогать семьям соратников по кампаниям гражданского неповиновения.

Махатма Ганди со своими единомышленниками
Фото: digitalindiapreview.com



С помощью друзей Ганди приобрел небольшой участок земли и организовал коммуну, которая стала называться Толстовская ферма. Адвокатская практика постепенно отошла на второй план. Теперь его мысли и руки были заняты обустройством своего «детища»: Ганди начал учиться строительному мастерству и пахать землю, а также «вещал истины» сподвижникам. Позднее он признался, что всю его жизнь перевернули два взаимосвязанных между собой события.

Первое: принятие обета самоограничения – брахмачарии. С 1906 года Ганди стал резко отличаться от других представителей индийской интеллигенции в Африке. Он больше не подражал европейцам, а также отказался от собственности, дав обет полового воздержания. С этого времени Ганди стал вести аскетическую жизнь человека, отказавшегося от забот о доме - семью он отослал в Феникс, где находилась колония его последователей. Внешне он походил на отшельника: полуголый, с посохом в руке – таким он многим и запомнился. Так начал свое общественно-политическое восхождение человек по имени Махатма.

Второе важнейшее событие в жизни Ганди - разработка специфической формы движения общественного протеста, которую он назвал «сатьяграха», что означало «упорство в истине». Само название, кстати, предложил его сын Маганлал. Смысл движения – гражданское неповиновение и ненасильственное несотрудничество. Что это означало? Все очень просто: участники сатьяграхи сознательно преступали колониальный закон, не сопротивлялись арестам и, как говорится, «дожимали» ситуацию до тех пор, пока власти не шли на уступки. Ганди также настаивал на том, чтобы его соратники не только не сопротивлялись, но даже не позволяли себе враждебных мыслей по отношению к противнику. Этот новый способ оказался настолько необычным и действенным, что юродствующего, по мнению властей, индийца поспешили упрятать за решетку.

Ганди возглавляет общественный протест в Африке
Фото: cupsoguepictures.com



Но тюрьма не сломила Ганди. Выйдя из нее, он с упорством обреченного продолжил борьбу. В итоге, в 1914 году, власти были вынуждены подписать с Ганди соглашение, сделав многочисленные уступки индийцам. Это была победа. Шел 1915 год, и Махатма возвратился в Индию, где, как оказалось, он уже возведен в ранг национального героя, поскольку весь мир напряженно следил за его борьбой за права своего народа против британцев в Африке.

Ганди доказал на практике, что ненасильственным путем можно добиться многого. Он стал опытным политиком. Однако ему остро недоставало знаний о его собственной стране, в которой он не был более 20 лет.

По долинам и по взгорьям

Целый год Ганди колесил по Индии, встречался с людьми из глубинки. Надежды на то, что его страна получит независимость, таяли прямо на глазах. Поэтому ее нужно завоевывать - вот основной вывод, к которому пришел Махатма. Но какими средствами? Этот вопрос на долгое время становится предметом долгих, подчас жестких, дискуссий с другими индийскими политиками. Несмотря на тесные дружеские узы между Ганди и Неру, методы борьбы за освобождение страны они видели по-разному. Некогда добропорядочный подданный британской короны, уважающий конституцию, Ганди активно выступает против нарушения равенства всех граждан империи перед лицом закона.

В 1918 - 1919 годах, когда вся Индия оказалась охвачена пожаром народных волнений в связи с отказом Англии выполнить обещание предоставить стране самоуправление после окончания Первой мировой войны, Ганди полон сил и политической активности.

Махатма Ганди. Общественный проткст - сатьяграха.
Фото: unlockcampus.org



Однажды во сне ему пришло видение: нужно организовать однодневный «хартал», что-то вроде всенародной забастовки, все участники которой должны провести этот день в посте и молитвах. Даже организаторы не ожидали такого масштаба, какой приняла эта забастовка: жизнь во всей Индии замерла, от Гималаев до мыса Коморин закрылись все учреждения, магазины, прекратилось движение транспорта, улицы практически опустели. Растерявшееся правительство арестовывает Ганди. Весть о том, что Бапу, Отец, оказался за решеткой, всколыхнула Индию. Вспыхнули жестокие стычки с полицией. Пролилось много крови. Ганди был потрясен, он публично признался, что допустил ошибку «гималайского масштаба» - массы оказались не готовы к сатьяграхе. Ганди объявил трехдневный покаянный пост.

В тот самый день, 13 апреля 1919 года, когда Ганди собрался поститься, произошел расстрел безоружной толпы в Амритсаре. Последние иллюзии были развеяны. Ганди заявил, что отныне у него больше нет уважения к правительству, которое защищает свою аморальность. Ганди призвал объявить бойкот колониальному режиму. Он предусматривал следующие формы: отказ от почетных должностей и званий, от участия в официальных приемах и мероприятиях, бойкот английских школ, выборов в законодательные органы, бойкот иностранных товаров.

По всей стране запылали костры – сжигались вещи иностранного производства, богатые дамы бросали в огонь парижские шелка и переодевались в грубую домотканую одежду, перестали работать учреждения, студенты игнорировали занятия в учебных заведениях, а тысячи «ходоков» пошли «в люди» в самые отдаленные уголки страны, объясняя людям суть акции протеста. Женщины впервые вышли на улицы из домашнего заточения – такого в Индии еще не бывало.

Этим веяниям пришлось подчиниться и многим индийским политикам. Так, например, свидетели передавали интересный разговор, произошедший между Ганди и Неру. Последний был далеко не аскетом, любил жить в роскоши, одевался по последней моде. Когда грянули известные события, Неру, как и многие другие индийцы, вынужден был облачиться в одежды из грубой ткани. Скрепя сердце, он принял новое веяние с точки зрения радикально настроенного политика. Но от чего он так и не сумел отказаться, так это от хороших английских сигар. Однажды на укор Ганди по этому поводу, он отреагировал так:

-    Но я же их сжигаю, Бапу!…

Ганди был гением символов. Костер – так костер! Огонь очищает, остается лишь чистый пепел. Другая его находка - ручная прялка, которая, как нельзя кстати вписалась в его теорию «свадеши» (домашнего производства). Этот предмет можно было найти даже в самом бедном доме. Ганди заявил, что при помощи этого нехитрого орудия производства страна обойдется без британских текстильных товаров, которые теперь не нужно будет покупать втридорога. Он сам научился прясть, изготавливал домотканое полотно –кхади. Его ткали все поголовно, в том числе и члены ИНК. Ганди собственноручно выпаривал морскую соль, нарушая тем самым государственную монополию британцев на ее производство. И постоянно прибегал к голодовкам протеста.

Ганди и Неру
Фото: vimstory.blogspot.com



Голодала вместе с Махатмой и его супруга Кастарубай, сыгравшая свою роль в той напряженной драме, в которую превратилась их совместная жизнь. Кастарубай следовала за мужем в тюрьму, разделяла с ним его трехнедельные посты и полностью несла свою часть тяжелого бремени других бесконечных обязанностей. Она так воздала должное Ганди: «Я благодарю Вас за то, что Вы дали мне почетную возможность быть Вашим сотоварищем и помощником в течение всей жизни. Я благодарю Вас за то, что наше супружество было самым совершенным, основанным на брахмачарья, а не сексуальности. Я благодарю Вас за то, что Вы сочли меня равной себе в Вашей длящейся всю жизнь работе на благо Индии».

Страна в тот период семимильными шагами шла к свободе. Казалось, еще немного - и ненавистный режим рухнет. Но произошло непредвиденное. В деревне Чаура-Чаура полицейские начали стрелять в митинговавших. Разъяренной толпе удалось скрутить стрелявших и затолкать их в хижину, после чего ее подожгли. Ганди отреагировал мгновенно. И предложил закончить компанию. Его не поняли даже близкие соратники, которые тщетно пытались убедить его в неразумности прерывания восстания с политической точки зрения. Но Махатма был неумолим: насилие недопустимо.

«Я должен сказать, что те, кто верит и доказывает, будто убийцы могут приносить пользу Индии, глубоко невежественны… Даже если им удастся выгнать англичан – кто будет править страной вместо них? Ответ один: убийцы. Кого они сделают счастливыми?»

В этих словах весь Ганди – Бапу. И народ его послушал, волнения постепенно прекратились на радость обомлевших от такого исхода властей, которые и предположить не могли, что революционная компания вдруг прервется по призыву лишь одного человека. История подобного еще не знала.

Ненасилие замешано на крови

Накануне Второй мировой войны Махатма проживал в одной из своих многочисленных общин – ашрамов - в местечке Вардха. По словам очевидцев, этот маленький святой излучал физическое, душевное и духовное здоровье. Его ласковые карие глаза сверкали умом, искренностью и пониманием. Уже в тот период Махатма по понедельникам общался исключительно с помощью ручки и бумаги, приняв еще один обет – обет однодневного молчания. И работал, работал…

Махатма Ганди
Фото: wpagandhi.blogspot.com



А Индия? Индия принимает участие в войне на стороне Великобритании. Иного и быть не могло. Колония внесла свою лепту в победу над фашизмом: ее ресурсы работали на войну, а индийские солдаты были пушечным мясом.

В этот период Индия по-прежнему оставалась страной, раздираемой всевозможными противоречиями – общинными, этническими, религиозными, наконец. А тут еще возникла внутренняя оппозиция. Даже не оппозиция, а целая армия, возглавляемая Субхасом Чандрой Босом. Когда-то этот человек был соратником Ганди и Неру, а теперь он возглавил армию, которая стала на сторону японцев, подошедших к восточной границе Индии. Тут еще зашевелились индийские мусульмане. Их лидер по имени Джинна, земляк Ганди и тоже адвокат, настойчиво требовал от Англии дать согласие на создание отдельного государства мусульман – Пакистана. Но Черчилль, в свойственной ему манере хитрить и водить всех за нос, только давал клятвенные обещания вернуться к этому вопросу после окончания войны. Впрочем, у него был свой резон – он не верил, что индусы, мусульмане и сикхи сумеют объединиться в борьбе против колониального правления.

Ганди негодовал. Он прекрасно понимал, что в сложившихся условиях организовать сатьяграху не представляется возможным. Опасаясь массовых беспорядков, он все же выдвигает лозунг «Прочь из Индии!», предлагая англичанам предоставить колонию «воле Бога или произволу анархии». Тогда Ганди произнес исторические слова: «Действуй или умри!». На этот раз правительство отреагировало моментально – все руководство Национального конгресса (и Ганди в том числе) оказались там, куда во все времена отправляли инакомыслящих, то есть за решеткой.

И народ всколыхнулся. Остановить движение протеста было уже невозможно. Начались массовые беспорядки. Власти отреагировали согласно закону военного времени – снова пролились реки крови. Погибло несколько десятков тысяч человек. Зачинщиком беспорядков объявили Ганди. А тот в ответ на эти инсинуации снова прибег к самой доступной ему форме протеста – трехнедельной голодовке. Увы, на этот раз безуспешно - он лишь чудом остался жив, хотя и не достиг какого-нибудь значительного результата своей акцией.

Не удалось Ганди и сблизиться с «братом Джинной», который к тому времени уже был смертельно болен туберкулезом и хотел встретить свой смертный час правителем мусульманского государства. Поэтому на призывы «пронырливого лиса» (так Джинна пренебрежительно называл Ганди), урегулировать конфликт между мусульманами и индусами, отвечал уклончиво и двусмысленно.

Раздел Индии, вопреки воле Ганди, все же произошел. Братоубийственная индусско-мусульманское побоище продолжилось и после войны. Англия понимала, что удержать Индию уже вряд ли удастся, даже если утопить ее в реках крови. Поэтому, чтобы сохранить реноме, англичане дали понять индийским националистам, что готовы предоставить стране независимость, но с одним условием – Британская Индия будет разделена на две части: мусульманский Пакистан и индуистскую Индию. Многим политическим деятелям эта идея понравилась: она давала им реальную возможность прийти к власти и разрешить политические разногласия между ИНК и Мусульманской лигой.

Махатма Ганди
Фото: talgroupinc.wordpress.com



Махатма Ганди уже не испытывал особой радости по поводу приобретения Индией независимости: после раздела страны в движение пришли миллионные массы, начался великий «исход» - индусы устремились в Индию, мусульмане – в Пакистан. Кровавым стычкам не было конца. Возникали целые города беженцев. В одном Дели последних скопилось более 400 тысяч человек. А всего более 6 млн мусульман и 4,5 млн индусов переместились из одной страны в другую. При этом около 700 тысяч человек погибли. Страшная трагедия!

Официально раздел страны произошел 15 августа 1947 года. Ганди этот день провел, молясь и постясь, в Калькутте, в той самой Калькутте, где ровно год назад он пытался остановить кровавое побоище – рискуя жизнью, он тогда совершил миротворческую поездку по окрестным деревням, куда перекинулось пламя погромов. Но мусульманское население его не услышало, оно шло за Джинной и было готово умереть за Пакистан.

Пятнадцать раз устраивал Ганди голодовки – последний раз уже в независимой Индии, протестуя против религиозных погромов.

…Первое покушение на жизнь Махатмы Ганди произошло 20 января 1948 года, через два дня после того, как он прекратил свою последнюю голодовку. Тогда он обращался к верующим с веранды своего дома в Дели. Беженец из Пенджаба по имени Маданлал метнул в него самодельную бомбу. Устройство хоть и взорвалось, но никто не пострадал.

Ганди предлагали охрану, но Бапу от нее отказался, заявив: «Если мне суждено погибнуть от пули безумца, я сделаю это с улыбкой. Бог должен быть в моем сердце и на устах».

Так и произошло ровно через десять дней, когда Ганди был застрелен шовинистически настроенным фанатиком-индусом Натхурамом Годсе. Случилось это во время молитвы. Махатма Ганди медленно опустился на землю с тремя пулями в слабеющем и угасающем теле, он поднял руки в традиционном индийском жесте приветствия, безмолвно свидетельствуя этим свое прощение.

Через несколько дней его сын Рамдас зажег погребальный костер. Языки пламени слились в один огненный столб. Тело Ганди превратилось в золу и пепел. Это была его последняя жертва на алтарь свободы и единства Индии.

Читайте также

Обзоры

Обзоры

31.12.2017 973

Люди Токио

Обзоры

Обзоры

Обзоры

Обзоры

Обзоры

Новости

Наука и образование

Новости партнёров