Opening Asia for Russia

12.07.2019 68 просмотров

Caviar… How much has merged in this word for the Russian heart… We continue our story about this amazingly tasty product that evokes the most violent emotions in many modern gourmets. Dividing caviar by ranking is a thankless task, but we still take the risk...


The main caviar players field the following teams. On the black half of the field - stellate sturgeon, kaluga, sturgeon, spike, sterlet. The captain is a beluga. On the red half - coho, chinook, sockeye salmon, sim, pink salmon. The captain is a chum.

Black, of course, wins on technique, but loses on points, there are too few of them left - as a result of our "recklessness" and greed for freebies. Although it is believed that sturgeons are found in very many rivers and seas (in addition to the Caspian Sea, we also have the Aral Sea, the Azov and even the Black Seas, as well as in the rivers from the Northern Dvina to the Indigirka), they are hunted almost exclusively in the Caspian Sea and slightly - a little on the Aral Sea. And they hunt, as usual, brutally. However, this is probably not worth talking about for a long time - this is a sad fact, since the current young generation almost without exception considers black caviar an inaccessible delicacy.  

Black caviar
Photo: ok.ru


There are practically no “wild” caviar left in the free sale, and artificial reservoirs where sturgeon are grown, appeared even in the USA. But the taste of that caviar - you understand! - not the same at all. In a word, the fish that lives, for example, in the Caspian Sea and went earlier to spawn in the Volga floodplain, outright lost the unequal battle with humans. Astrakhan, Volgograd - until recently, these were the most "caviar" cities in our country. Now everything is not so - in the afternoon with fire you can’t find the once beloved product in them. Even before, back in Soviet times, it was carefully sold by poachers, and now they have calmed down - due to the almost complete absence of sturgeons in the Volga ...

The fact remains: with the collapse of the USSR, the number of sturgeons in the Caspian Sea has steadily decreased and reached catastrophically low levels in just a decade. It even went so far as to ban some Western countries (for example, the USA and Australia) from importing black caviar into their territory. Therefore, counterfeit divorced - not to count.

Black caviar
Photo: yandex.ru

< br> To reach the "age of puberty", the female beluga requires 18 years. The rest, however, are smaller, but they will be cheaper that way. Then the sturgeons themselves, and the cost of their caviar is growing every year. Accordingly, first of all, the “old women” are knocked out (the legendary hundred-year-old beluga is probably no longer left), then their “daughters” - and so on.

not as dramatic as one might imagine. Now a fair number of fish farms specializing in them operate all over the world, new ones are opened every year, but ... To enter the caviar market "in full growth" they need all the same two decades. But businesses can't afford that luxury. But for the beluga themselves on farms, the first spawning does not mean a momentary farewell to life. If you carefully remove the yastik from the fish, through a caesarean section, it can withstand up to 20 “milkings”. But taste is also important, and, as already noted, young caviar is not at all so “saturated”, or something.

Origin of Species

An incomprehensible word yastyk ... In fact, it's just a bag from the connective tissue, which contains the eggs in the belly of the fish. And the cheapest variety of sturgeon caviar is called sturgeon caviar because it is too small to be separated from this tissue (“punched”), and it is salted along with pieces of ovaries. It turns out such a peculiar dense viscous mass, which is not even distinguished by fish species. 

Red caviar
Photo: retail .ru


Pressed caviar will be more expensive - it is “pierced”, but it is too fat to be divided into separate grains, and therefore we end up with something like porridge. Well known to everyone: it is pressed caviar that is most often found. It looks like an almost homogeneous mass and is intended, first of all, for sandwiches. 

Finally, if the grains are mature, large, dense, if they have passed through the holes in a special rope sieve - "roar" (through it, in fact, is “pierced”), it turned out ... right, the caviar is grainy. The most expensive - but also the most delicious. However, "inside itself" it is also divided into different types: the lighter, the more expensive. And the color, by the way, is certainly marked on the banks. Sevruga caviar is cheaper than all of its "honeycombs", and therefore goes on sale without any marking at all. 

Pused caviar
Photo: ppt-online.org


Speaking of banks, by the way. It has its own color scale: noble blue for kaluga, beluga and sterlet. However, sturgeon caviar, it seems, has already died out as a class ... Golden yellow - for sturgeon and spike. Anxious red - for stellate sturgeon. This is ours. The Iranians, however, have very similar markings (from whom they studied!), except that Almas is packaged in golden jars.

Beluga has the largest caviar, it also ranks first in nutritional value - tasty, expensive and .. beautiful, because ideally the eggs should be 2.5 mm in diameter with a dewy color, dark or silver gray. The second place in this “qualification” is occupied by sturgeon caviar. She has a slightly noticeable aroma, and the eggs are smaller than beluga ones - a little more than 1 mm. If you compare the color, then it has shades of bronze. And our "podium" is closed by sterlet caviar - the color of wet asphalt. It is the smallest, however, if we talk about its useful properties, then it is in no way inferior to beluga. 

Beluga
Photo:  bigfishesoftheworld.blogspot.com


Stellate sturgeon caviar is the blackest - and the grains can be very different. The stellate sturgeon "eye" is very bright, and the fish itself among sturgeons is considered the most common and ... the least prolific fish. On average, she can live 30 years, reaching a two-meter size. The largest individuals weigh no more than 80 kg, while the beluga has much more. 

The size of these unique dinosaurs of the ichthyo kingdom, which in the recent past was called "royal", is striking. In the "Astrakhan reference book" No. 58 for 1872, you can read about the monstrous beluga met in the old days. Their weight reached 100, 120 and even 250 poods (1 pood - 16 kg). And 250 pounds is 4 tons! In 1924, a beluga weighing 1227 kg was caught in the lower reaches of the Volga. The caviar in it was 245 kg. And another record was set by a long-lived beluga who lived for 120 years.

The best black caviar is not black, but golden in color. Which perfectly matches her royal essence. 

Huge beluga
Photo: yandex.com.tr


The red team has a slightly different situation. That is, the technology is the same, the varieties are the same, but when buying, you should look at the color of the eggs. That is, remember that pink salmon caviar has medium-sized grains, shiny and light orange, those of sockeye salmon, coho salmon, trout are red, and chum salmon are red-orange and large. In general, there is no such strict price hierarchy depending on the breed, as in sturgeons. On the lower step, it seems, there is pink salmon, on the upper chum salmon, in the middle are all the rest, and so - whoever likes what ...

What to do?

Like what?! There is, of course! And eat red, and black, if finances allow. And also - store in the cold, not for long (the product, after all, is perishable), but carefully and accurately. Black - at 2-4 degrees below zero, red - at 4-6 below zero. Serve at the table, if according to the rules, then only chilled, in special caviar bowls, set on ice in vodka vases. According to Prince Odoevsky, "caviar is good only when it is cold, like champagne from a good host." Once upon a time, caviar bowls with subcorn bowls were an integral part of any large service, then they disappeared (along with caviar) ... 

Belugas caviar
Photo:  caviar.glvrbsbt.ru


In general, our ancestors scoffed at caviar (primarily black) as they wanted. Here is what the famous Russian historian Nikolai Kostomarov wrote about the old days: “Caviar was among the usual dishes: fresh granular from sturgeon and white salmon was a luxury; but in general use there was a pressed, baggy, Armenian - irritating property and wrinkled, of the lowest dignity, which was bought by poor commoners. Caviar was generally consumed with vinegar, pepper and crushed onions. In addition to raw caviar, they also used caviar boiled in vinegar or poppy milk, and spun: during the fasts, the Russians made caviar, or caviar pancakes: it was whipped, after a long beating, caviar with an admixture of grainy flour and then steamed. br> The Englishman William Cox, who traveled around Russia during the time of Catherine II, goes even further and recalls "a table littered with mountains of bread with caviar, pickles, crayfish and fish." The table was put up for Christmas for the St. Petersburg poor... 

Red caviar
Photo: mysonnik.com


Black caviar as a food product of "poor commoners"... We can't live like that. We'd rather be rich (well, not so much as to stoop to merchant chic and eat "black gold" with spoons), but we still won't forget about caviar. And in the form of small canapes, croutons and tartlets with sturgeon (after all, whatever one may say, it’s a perfect classic!) And about pancakes for Maslenitsa with salmon. And about complex sauces, in which one or the other looks organically. And we will also decorate fish dishes with them, add a little to gourmet soups, stuff vegetables with them ... But you never know there are delicious dishes that lack only one piquant detail - a small hill of caviar?

Tags:

|
Twitter
|
VKontakte
|
Odnoklassniki
Subscribe:

Read also

News

Sport

11.08.2022 16

qatar World Cup

Politics

11.08.2022 17

Japan ministers

Politics

11.08.2022 0

Japan ministers

Science and education

Science and education

Economy and business

11.08.2022 21

electric car

Economy and business

11.08.2022 15

business

Politics

11.08.2022 15

ingushetia

Politics

11.08.2022 14

bahrain

Society

11.08.2022 13

moskalkova

Society

10.08.2022 23

army games

Economy and business

10.08.2022 29

turkey gas

Politics

10.08.2022 29

yapgniya

Partner news

АССАМБЛЕЯ НАРОДОВ ЕВРАЗИИ
ТЕЛЕКАНАЛ «БОЛЬШАЯ АЗИЯ» И «ЯПОНСКИЙ ФОНД» ПРЕДСТАВЛЯЮТ!

Открываем Азию для России

Икра «первого эшелона»

12.07.2019 Олег Волгин 424 просмотров

Икра… Как много в этом слове для сердца русского слилось… Мы продолжаем наш рассказ об этом удивительно вкусном продукте, который вызывает у многих современных гурманов самые бурные эмоции. Деление икры по ранжиру — дело неблагодарное, но мы все же рискнем...


Основные икорные игроки выставляют следующие команды. На чёрной половине поля – севрюга, калуга, осётр, шип, стерлядь. Капитан – белуга. На красной половине – кижуч, чавыча, нерка, сима, горбуша. Капитан – кета.

Чёрные, безусловно, побеждают по технике, но проигрывают по очкам, уж больно мало их осталось — в результате нашей «безбашенности» и жадности до халявы. Хотя считается, что осетровые водятся в очень многих реках и морях (у нас, кроме Каспия, ещё на Арале, в Азовском и даже Чёрном морях, а также в реках от Северной Двины до Индигирки), но промышляют их почти исключительно на Каспии и чуть-чуть на Арале. Причём промышляют, как водится, зверски. Впрочем, об этом, наверное, не стоит долго распространяться – факт этот печальный, поскольку нынешнее молодое поколение чуть ли не поголовно считает чёрную икру недоступным деликатесом.  

Черная икра
Фото: ok.ru


В свободной продаже «дикой» икры практически не осталось, а искусственные водоёмы, где выращивают осетровых, появились даже в США. Но вкус той икры — сами понимаете! - совсем не тот. Одним словом, рыба, живущая, например, в Каспийском море и шедшая ранее на нерест в волжскую пойму, неравный бой с человеком вчистую проиграла. Астрахань, Волгоград — еще недавно это были самые «икорные» города нашей страны. Теперь все не так — днём с огнем не сыскать в них некогда любимый продукт. Его-то и раньше, еще в советские времена, осторожно продавали браконьеры, а теперь и они угомонились — по причине практически полного отсутствия осетров в Волге…

Факт остаётся фактом: с развалом СССР поголовье осетровых на Каспии неуклонно сокращалось и всего за десятилетие достигло катастрофически низкого уровня. Дело дошло даже до запрета некоторых западных стран (например, США и Австралии) ввозить на свою территорию чёрную икру. Поэтому и контрафакта развелось — не счесть.

Черная икра
Фото: yandex.ru


Чтобы достичь «возраста половой зрелости», самке белуги требуется 18 лет. Остальным, правда, поменьше, но так они и подешевле будут. Дальше и сами осётры, и стоимость их икры растёт с каждым годом. Соответственно, выбивают в первую очередь «старушек» (легендарных столетних белуг сейчас, наверное, уже и не осталось), потом их «дочерей» - и так далее.

Но вполне вероятно, что судьба осетровых в итоге сложится далеко не так драматично, как можно себе представить. Теперь во всём мире работает изрядное количество специализирующихся на них рыбных ферм, каждый год открываются новые, но… Чтобы выйти на икряной рынок «в полный рост» им нужны всё те же два десятилетия. Но бизнес позволить себе такую роскошь не может. Зато для самих белуг на фермах первое икрометание вовсе не означает сиюминутное прощание с жизнью. Если вынимать у рыбы ястык аккуратно, через кесарево сечение, она может выдержать до 20 «доек». Но ведь важен еще и вкус, а он, как уже отмечалось, у икры молодняка вовсе не такой «насыщенный», что ли.

Происхождение видов

Непонятное слово ястык… На самом деле, это просто мешок из соединительной ткани, в котором и содержатся икринки в брюхе рыбины. А самая дешёвая разновидность осетровой икры называется ястычной потому, что она слишком мелка, чтобы быть от этой ткани отделенной («пробитой»), и её солят вместе с кусками ястыков. Получается такая своеобразная плотная вязкая масса, которую даже по породам рыб не различают. 

Красная икра
Фото: retail.ru


Паюсная икра подороже будет – её «пробивают», но она слишком жирная, чтобы разделяться на отдельные зерна и потому на выходе мы имеем нечто вроде каши. Всем хорошо знакомой: именно паюсная икра чаще всего и встречается. Она имеет вид почти однородной массы и предназначена, в первую очередь, для бутербродов. 

Наконец, если зёрна зрелые, крупные, плотные, если они целыми прошли сквозь отверстия в специальном верёвочном сите-«грохоте» (через него, собственно, и «пробивают»), получилась… правильно, икра зернистая. Самая дорогая – зато и самая вкусная. Впрочем, «внутри себя» она тоже подразделяется на разные виды: чем светлее, тем дороже. И цвет, кстати, непременно маркируется на банках. Севрюжья икра дешевле всех своих «сотоварок», а потому идёт в продажу вообще без маркировки. 

Паюсная икра
Фото: ppt-online.org


Кстати, раз уж речь зашла о банках. Там своя цветовая шкала: благородный синий – для калуги, белуги и стерляди. Впрочем, стерляжья икра, кажется, уже вымерла как класс… Золотистый желтый – для осетра и шипа. Тревожный красный – для севрюги. Это у нас. У иранцев, впрочем, очень схожая маркировка (у кого учились!), разве что Almas расфасовывается в золотые баночки.

Самая крупная икра у белуги, она же и занимает первое место по питательности - вкусная, дорогая и... красивая, поскольку в идеале икринки должны быть в диаметре 2,5 мм с росным цветом, тёмно– или серебристо-серым. Второе место в этой «квалификации» занимает икра осетра. У нее чуть заметный аромат, а икринки поменьше белужьих – чуть больше 1 мм. Если сравнивать цвет, то он имеет оттенки бронзы. И замыкает наш «подиум» икра стерляжья - цвета мокрого асфальта. Она самая мелкая, однако, если говорить о ее полезных свойствах, то она ничуть не уступает белужьей. 

Белуга
Фото: bigfishesoftheworld.blogspot.com


Севрюжья икра самая чёрная — и зёрнышки могут оказаться самыми различными. У севрюжьей «глазок» очень светлый, а сама рыба среди осетровых считается самой распространённой и... наименее плодовитой рыбой. В среднем она может прожить 30 лет, достигнув двухметровой величины. Самые большие особи весят не более 80 кг, тогда как у белуг он куда больше. 

Поражают размеры этих уникальных динозавров ихтиоцарства, которых в недавнем прошлом именовали «царскими». В «Астраханском справочнике» №58 за 1872 год можно прочитать о чудовищных белугах, встречавшихся в прежние времена. Их вес достигал 100, 120 и даже 250 пудов (1 пуд – 16 кг). А 250 пудов – это 4 тонны! В 1924 году в низовьях Волги поймали белугу весом 1227 кг. Икры в ней было 245 кг. А ещё один рекорд установила белуга–долгожительница, прожившая 120 лет.

Самая лучшая чёрная икра – не чёрная, а золотистая на цвет. Что как нельзя лучше соответствует её царской сути. 

Огромные белуги
Фото: yandex.com.tr


У красной команды ситуация выглядит несколько иначе. То есть, технология та же, по сортам – то же, а вот при покупке следует смотреть на цвет икринок. То есть помнить, что у икры горбуши зерна среднего размера, блестящие и светло-оранжевые, у нерки, кижуча, форели – красные, у кеты – красно-оранжевые и крупные. Вообще же здесь нет такой строгой иерархии цены в зависимости от породы, как у осетровых. На нижней ступени, вроде бы, стоит горбуша, на верхней кета, посередине все остальные, а так – кому что нравится…

Что делать?

Как что?! Есть, конечно же! И красную кушать, и чёрную, если финансы позволяют. А ещё – хранить на холоде, недолго (продукт, всё-таки, скоропортящийся), зато бережно и аккуратно. Чёрную – при 2-4 градусах мороза, красную – при 4-6 ниже нуля. Подавать к столу, если по правилам, то только охлаждённой, в специальных икорницах, поставленных на лёд в вазах-подикорницах. По словам князя Одоевского, «икра хороша тогда только, когда она холодна, как шампанское у доброго хозяина». Когда-то икорницы с подикорницами составляли неотъемлемую часть любого большого сервиза, потом исчезли (вместе с икрой)… 

Белужья икра
Фото: caviar.glvrbsbt.ru


Вообще предки наши изгалялись над икрой (в первую очередь, чёрной), как хотели. Вот что писал известный российский историк Николай Костомаров о былых временах: «Икра была в числе обычных кушаний: свежая зернистая из осетра и белорыбицы составляла роскошь; но во всеобщем употреблении была паюсная, мешочная, армянская - раздражающего свойства и мятая, самого низшего достоинства, которую покупали бедные простолюдины. Икру вообще употребляли с уксусом, перцем и искрошенным луком. Кроме сырой икры, употребляли ещё икру, варёную в уксусе или маковом молоке, и пряженую: в посты русские делали икрянки, или икряные блины: это была взбитая, после продолжительного битья, икра с примесью крупитчатой муки и потом запаренная».

Англичанин Вильям Кокс, путешествовавший по России во времена Екатерины II, идёт ещё дальше и вспоминает «стол, заваленный горами хлеба с икрой, солёными огурцами, раками и рыбой». Стол был выставлен на Рождество для петербургской бедноты… 

Красная икра
Фото: mysonnik.com


Чёрная икра как продукт питания «бедных простолюдинов»… Нам так не жить. Мы лучше будем богатыми (ну, не настолько, чтобы опускаться до купеческого шика и есть «чёрное золото» ложками), но про икру всё равно не забудем. И в виде небольших канапе, гренков и тарталеток с осетровой (всё-таки, как ни крути – совершеннейшая классика!) И про блины на Масленицу с лососевой. И про сложные соусы, в которых органично смотрится что одна что другая. А ещё будем украшать ими рыбные блюда, добавлять понемногу в изысканные супы, фаршировать ими овощи… Да мало ли есть вкусных блюд, которым не хватает одной только пикантной детали - маленькой горочки икры?

Читайте также

Новости

Экосреда

Культура и отдых

Новости партнёров